Domino’s Pizza Has Failed So Much It Has Now Won

Odunayo
Yinka Eats Food
Published in
3 min readMay 5, 2016

Domino’s: Turkey Bacon Pizza
(with BBQ Sauce, Mozzarella Cheese, Pineapple and Italian Sausage)

Inconspicuously, I had never had a Domino’s Pizza before but the reviews were (are) the worst. And I’ve had the best of Pizza’s I think (my reviews will tell) and I really couldn’t imagine how a Pizza could be so so bad that — as some reviews say — you shouldn’t make the mistake of bringing an entry level pizza eater to Domino’s because they’d have the wrong impression of Pizza.

So going in, the referrals were horrible, if we can call them that. In fact, going by what my references said (staring at everyone) I shouldn’t even have been having any Domino's Pizzas. But fortunately for me and all you readers now, I had the luck to go in and pick a good/great tasting pizza!

Well, the new location at Yaba had just opened so the effort needed to get in there and try something was minimal. The Turkey Bacon Pizza is a special, from the flier we picked up then, and a little more expensive than the rest of their items. But with all its fancy ingredients, no way we weren’t going to try it out.

The ordering process is basic, you order at their counter and wait. The environment is bright and very spacey (the distance between tables). The distance between my table and my chair was far enough that I noticed and was unhappy about it. It has an outdoor indoor feeling; you can feel the AC but the whole place is made of glass so you’re so aware of what’s happening outside. This detracts from the experience and will make me reduce the scores of an otherwise fine ordering experience by a point, so 3.5/5.

The meal itself only had one flaw. Yes, just one simple flaw. That was it. Apart from that, it was perfect. Their supposedly thick crust is, thin. I actually had to ask if they had misplaced the original order. Apart from that, it was a good pizza. The Bacon, the turkey, the sausage, even the pineapple all find their place in your mouth when you take a bite. The tastes arrange themselves like a disciplined formation and leaves you happy enough to want to continue the experience with the next slice. Yes, it doesn’t leave you trying to understand an intensely great taste, but it does the job nevertheless.

Pizza usually tires me quickly, but this one didn’t. And maybe that’s the secret to a great pizza, who knows? But this Pizza does the job of making a fine meal on its own. Even my partner (looking at her) admitted that this was a pretty sound pizza despite her horrible referral. She even attributed it to beginners luck (since they were just opening) and a white woman boss (don’t ask). But this pizza wins it as a solid 4.3/5.

Will we go back for this Pizza? Hell, yes. I might want to try something new another day**, but its return value is 10/10. And in this case, 4.5/5.

So overall:

  • Ordering Process: 3.5
  • Meal Combination: 4.3
  • Return Value: 4.5

The ordering process was uneventful and the environment fades away if you’re having a good time so it only takes 10% of the total score. The meal and its return value are pretty important here so they take 45% each. So this creates a score of 7 + 38.7 + 40.5

  • Final Value: 86.2%

**I don’t know what he means by ‘try something new. I’m a proponent of ‘if it ain’t broke, don’t fix it’. Well, when it comes to Domino’s pizzas. So if we’re going back there, we’re eating this pizza again. *drops mic*

--

--

Odunayo
Yinka Eats Food

I am the change I want to see. || PushCV, Covidigital, TechPoint