Spurs: Mashed Potatoes, Onion Rings and Cream with Grilled Chicken Breast

Odunayo
Yinka Eats Food
Published in
3 min readApr 20, 2016

Yinka Says:

I just had to have their Mashed Potatoes and Onion rings, the referral went. How had this not been mentioned to me before? That being said, I was really anticipating something great here. I mean, it sounds fancy doesn’t it? I could even imagine how it tasted just by (pause) constructing it in my head so I was really ready for it.

The Spurs in Ikeja, GRA has a cozier feel than the one in Ikeja City Mall. It’s smaller and darker so you feel more comfortable in general. And there weren’t many kids! In fact it’s unlikely you’ll find any — except you go on a Sunday. I came hungry for this meal so I could really be immersed in the experience and really appreciate whatever goodness existed. The ordering process was average, took some time and again and as usual, someone’s meal came first.

By the time my food came in I had forgiven the wait time (I’m not sure there’s much they can do about it anyway). The mashed potatoes looked softer than I expected and the onion rings came in a fancy brown flour coating and were cut really thinly. Their proprietary cream came in a bottle I could pour out myself. I hadn’t planned to have the grilled chicken breast when I first got there, but it turned out to be a wonderful decision.

The mashed potatoes with onion rings tastes great. The crispy onion rings when combined with the softness of the mashed potatoes is wonderful in the mouth. The combination of the two tastes is a nice 7/10. Combine that with the Spurs Cream and you have a 9/10 taste and a heavenly texture in your mouth. You see, the tastes of all three ingredients have similar taste profiles but not the same so that you can taste each element but in slow contrasting waves.

Now add that to the neatly grilled chicken breasts — that’s the easiest thing to cut and eat because it has no bones and comes in flat like a slice of bread — and you have one of the bests non-traditional meals out there.

How four different elements manage to have such similarities yet enough differences to provide delightful harmony is bliss. The referral was a 5/5 and the meal when combined together that way is a 5+/5 because it was better than that “I just had to have” referral at the beginning.

Did I mention that I also had the Spurs Milkshake? That 10/10 milkshake I spoke about in a previous post? Add that similar taste to this combination and you have heaven.

I will go back to have this meal; again and again (as soon as I’m done trying new things or feel like having something from the old). It’s the kind of happiness you want to remain in your dish choices. The return value is a whopping 4.5/5. It’s not a 5/5 because if it were 5/5 I would have returned by now because I’d be addicted. That final .5 is for compulsion.

So here we have it.
Ordering Process: 2.5
Meal Combination: 5.25 (Because it was better than the already great referral, it gets extra points even if it’s over 5)
Return Value: 4.5


Here, the wait was really worth it, so the wait matters very little and it gets only 5% of the final score. The meal was great and gets 55%. Return value is a big deal here too and so it gets the remaining 40%.

Based on this, it combines to be 2.5+57.75+36

Final Value: 96.25%

I’ve been eating lots of Mashed Potatoes since then. I cannot wait to make the switch to Chips or potatoe skins…oh god. I might be obsessed with potatoes.

--

--

Odunayo
Yinka Eats Food

I am the change I want to see. || PushCV, Covidigital, TechPoint