Making New Friends Through New Experiences

Amy Li
YIP Review
Published in
2 min readNov 4, 2016

I signed up for the Young Investor Program with one of my friends, hoping to be paired up with others who shared the same interests as us. At the time, I had just moved schools and coincidentally, we were paired up with 2 people from my new school as well as someone from another school. This became a great opportunity to develop my friendships with classmates and to forge new ones.

Spending two and a half hours every Saturday and working on mini cases outside of the workshops, my team had plenty of time to get to know each other. As each week passed by, our shared interests bonded us even closer. To this day, my team still plans get togethers, proving just how pivotal of a role YIP has played in helping me make life long friends.

Not only did I forge new friendships within my team by working with them, I also had a chance to meet and work with many other students from all over Metro Vancouver. It’s not everyday where you can meet people who have many of the same interests as you. I remember how a discussion with another team about a YIP mini case led to conversations about our deepest passions and career aspirations. Overall, the Young Investor Program provided me with a platform where I had a chance to meet people who are just as driven as me.

--

--