My Overall Experience with YIP

Kenny Jin
YIP Review
Published in
2 min readNov 6, 2016

My name is Kenny Jin and now I am honourably serving as an ambassador at the Young Investor Program Canada, Vancouver Chapter. On a Friday in October 2015, I happened to click on the school weekly newsletter in my email inbox and I saw the opportunity to participate in the Young Investor Program. Now, looking back, I always feel so fortunate because otherwise I would not have known YIP, a great self-developing opportunity and a networking platform.

By participating in the program, I strengthened my knowledge and skills in personal financial literacy. The program provided six hands-on learning workshops and invited several reputable business professionals to give a lecture at each workshop. The six workshops covered the several most important topics of personal finance and investment, including stocks, income taxes, entrepreneurship, etc. The content of the workshops was designed to teach high school students who had no knowledge in finance. I personally had some basic knowledge about finance prior to the program, which helped me perform even better.

The other reason I admire this program is because the connections I have built with all the people I met. The program was run by a panel of dedicated business school students and high school ambassadors. Besides, there were more than a hundred like-minded peers. At this point, I would like to say thank you to the executives and ambassadors for their help and guidance with case study preparation, stock investment, and even university application. I also really enjoyed the time as I coordinated my team to prepare for case study presentations and the Portfolio Pitch Competition. By having a good rapport with my team members, we had an excellent presentation and achieved the first place in the Portfolio Pitch Competition.

Last but not least, I believe the knowledge and connections I acquired from the program would be life-long beneficial. In addition, this year, as an ambassador, I am more than willing to try my best to help all the participants. I am also looking forward to working with and learning from all the executives and the other ambassadors.

--

--