10 books you should definitely read!!!

The Trini Entrepreneur
3 min readJan 3, 2019

--

Hi Team, I thought I’d share with you some of the books that definitely made an impact on my life and career both as an employee and entrepreneur.

  1. Seven Habits of Highly Effective Persons: I’ve read this book at least seven times. This is a book that can help change the foundation of your character and is also used as the foundation of many other books as well. It is an absolute must read!
  2. Crucial Conversations: When faced with a difficult conversation many of us choose flight over fight. When we do face those conversations we handle them really poorly. As an employee I remembered times where I was convinced that the boss really had it out for me! I knew I would need to have a crucial conversation so I would read the book over (it’s a short read) and go face my boss. I have never regretted having one of those conversations and it has helped me gain insight, a different perspective and a way out of a tough spot!
  3. Proverbs: The more I read this book the more I realize that I’ve heard it’s principles echoed in many other great books …such as the Seven Habits.
  4. The Richest Man in Babylon: The great use of storytelling to drive home a point makes this book really outstanding and memorable…. “Opportunity is a fickle mistress and she does not wait around for the unprepared!”.
  5. The Founder’s Dilemma: When I entered the Young Leaders of the America’s Initiative (YLAI) I asked my mentor why he went the venture capitalist route instead of keeping ownership to himself. He recommended this book to me and it was an excellent read. Are you looking to start a business? Then don’t make all the mistakes I made. This book would help you with choices pertaining to who to partner with, the kind of employees to pursue and if you’re ready to start one.
  6. The Power of Habit: Important for understanding why we do what we do in life and business. Do you have bad habits? Then this book would you understand why. It’s only when you understand the habit loop would you be able to break it.
  7. Rich Dad Poor Dad: This book holds pertinent lessons on assets and liabilities that would impact how you spend your money. If you are struggling to buy your own home then you need to read this book.
  8. The History of the Ancient World, Medieval World, Renaissance World: When you begin reading history you start seeing erroneous choices of the past being executed today. You are also equipped with alternate choices made in another culture that would help you choose a wiser path.
  9. How to Win Friends & Influence People: The author admitted that the name choice was intentionally odd but it’s a really great book. He tells you some of the tools that some of the greats of history employed to make them truly effective.
  10. His Needs Her Needs: You’ve heard it said “Behind every great man is a great woman”. Well this book will help you secure that relationship! This book ought to be read by everyone with a partner!

Do you have some suggestions that you think ought to be in this list? Be sure to let me know!!!!!!!!!

--

--

The Trini Entrepreneur

Serial Entrepreneur with a passion to inspire others towards entrepreneurship.