“Celebrating Entrepreneurs Through YLAI” — Interview with Avena Prince

Michelle N Samuel
5 min readDec 21, 2017

--

SLUDTERA is still at it! Now that St. Lucia Business Month is over, we are still celebrating Entrepreneurs by promoting the Entrepreneurial Culture of our island country and other countries. Follow this weekly episode here.

To start off this feature is an interview with Ms. Avena Prince from Dominica. We had a chat with Avena about the effects of the hurricane on Dominica, and how against all odds, she and one other Fellow, was able to make it to Atlanta. How? By the Grace of God, working through other 2017 Fellows who were determined that Avena and the other Dominican Fellows, made it to the program!

So please tell us who you are and how you heard about the YLAI Program

Hello, my name is Avena and I am from Dominica. I am a recent addition to the Young Leaders of the Americas Initiative Alumni which was held from October 3rd to November 8th 2017. I was selected among 249 other Fellows for this year’s program out of over 4,000 applicants. This was the first time that I applied to the program. I heard about the YLAI Program through an email correspondence, and so I decided to apply. It was the best decision that I’ve made.

Avena in Dominica before Hurricane Irma & Maria

What is the name of your company and what type of service do you provide?

My company is Royal Globe Inc. My business provides training in various vocations as well as a garment making service which caters to women.

What problem(s) is/are your company solving and how many people have you helped since being launched?

My business addresses the high unemployment and low income rate of my country. We provide clients with skills for self-employment and/or self sustenance. From the inception of our programs in July 2015, we have trained more than 60 adults and have had a total of 30 children enrolled in our programs.

Your island country of was hit hard by hurricane Maria. How did that experience impact your participation in YLAI 2017?

My participation was almost not possible due to the hurricane. Communication with the organizers was difficult. I remember the correspondence that said Dominica’s participation would be deferred to 2018 and it was so disappointing. But in the end, there were fellows who wanted us there and it was wonderful to know that they were thinking of myself and the other Dominican Fellows and trying their best so we could be included this year. It was heartwarming. It was not easy to get to Barbados. And we had to travel light. Certainly, it was not the same as if I had departed my country under normal circumstances. But participating in the program had a much deeper impact on me.

How did you feel when you finally made it to Atlanta?

I was overwhelmed with so many emotions…excitement and accomplishment being the main ones. I couldn’t believe I was there.

How did the Fellows react towards you when you arrived in Atlanta?

The reception was awesome. They were happy we had made it.

What was your biggest challenge during your fellowship?

My biggest challenge was gelling with my city hub. I was the only one whose native language was English. And most communication where our host organisation (UCCD) was not involved was in Spanish.

What are 5 tips that you would give to the next generation of YLAI Fellows?

  • This is a great opportunity embrace it. No matter the odds of participating, it is possible
  • Contacts that may seem irrelevant may be of great benefit
  • Be generous. Refer others to contacts that may be relevant to them
  • Enjoy the experience
  • Focus on enhancing your business. Learn as much as possible

Do you plan on doing anything back in your home country to encourage them to apply to YLAI 2018? What do you have in mind?

At the moment, I am planning to send correspondences to entrepreneurs who could benefit from the program.

How do you plan to celebrate or observe Global Entrepreneurship Week in your country?

Unable to contribute as I am out of state.

Definitely, rebuilding your island country is what is at the forefront of your mind. What would you like others to know about how they can assist you in this rebuilding effort?

When we speak of rebuilding, one of the main concerns is the economy. A lot of persons are jobless and while we may not feel the effects now, because there are other more seemingly important matters, soon people will become responsible for their livelihood. My company trains people in different skills that can help them to become self employed. We are not able to provide the classes at no cost as it is costly to run the programs. Help us to provide these programs that will allow persons to be self-sufficient by sponsoring a participant. Contact me at avena_prince@royalglobeinc.com or admin@royalglobeinc.com for more details.

On behalf of the Management of SLUDTERA, I would like to thank you Avena for speaking with us and sharing your experience with us. I pray that as time moves on, that you will be able to recommence business operations and rebuild overall.

About Avena

Avena Prince

Avena Alia Prince is the Founder of Royal Globe Inc., which provides training in various vocations for children and adults. One such vocation is sewing, as Royal Globe Inc. designs and produces custom and ready-made women’s clothing through its subsidiary Vee’s Couture. Prior to this, Avena worked in the field of sales and marketing for ten years — first with a printing company and subsequently as an insurance sales agent. She holds a diploma in sales management and marketing from Cambridge International College.

Avena’s video interview

Take a look at Avena’s Salt Lake City experience.

--

--