My YLAI Journey

Luchi Cosenza
Young Leaders of the Americas Initiative
3 min readSep 16, 2017

One of the most difficult tasks is to tell about the experience that changed your life. It may sound very exaggerated, but YLAI definitely marked a before and after in my life and in my company. Why? Because it opened my mind to all the possibilities that exist for me in this world; there are also possibilities for you and for all the people who take the risk of living life as they wish.

My life began in 2014, and it sounds strange since I was born in 1988, but it wasn’t until September 2014 that I began to live. I had a severe depression and I was sunk in a tunnel without seeing the light at the end. It was when I really died through my depression that I was born again, and this happened thanks to art. My company, Cuenta Platos, helped me find a new meaning to life, to be who I was and to understand how art and occupational therapy can show you how to live.

After a year and a half of having Cuenta Platos, where I paint porcelain and show positive messages to promote mental health, I went to YLAI. Until that moment, I had many ideas in my mind and no clue how to unite them. I knew I wanted to give another meaning to Cuenta Platos by fostering mental health and self esteem, but I did not know how, and YLAI helped me have a guide. It was there that I really understood the value of my company starting by respecting my time and talent.

YLAI marked a before and after because from there I grew, not only in my business, but personally. I understood that having an open mind helps you take any opportunity to make it yours, to grow and to do what you want in life. At present I have my office with two colleagues who also went to YLAI. I work in a neighborhood known for being the place of art and culture in my country, promoting mental health through workshops and all my pieces. Most importantly, I help people find a life purpose through my certification as a life purpose coach. I do not know if any of this would be possible if I had not gone to YLAI, but I know that I did everything because of this wonderful experience that changed my life, opened my mind and gave new meaning to my life; helping others through my art and entrepreneurship.

If I could give you a piece of advice, it would it be to start a personal project without expecting immediate monetary compensation. Why? Because in this way you inject all your passion and love without expecting anything in return but the satisfaction of making it happen. Maybe I recommend it because that’s how I started — by painting and having a reason to wake up from my depression, get out of my bed and do something. Two and a half years later it’s my job, it’s still my engine and the reason why I get up every morning, the reason that gave me life to live it.

--

--

Luchi Cosenza
Young Leaders of the Americas Initiative

I promote mental health and self-esteem by painting stories in porcelain. Guatemala.