YLD Perspectives: Filipe Pinheiro

YLD
YLD Blog
Published in
3 min readDec 19, 2018

One of our ‘insiders’ will be giving us an insight into their career, and what it’s really like to work for YLD.

What is your role at YLD? Software Engineer in Lisbon.

What did you do before joining YLD?
Before joining YLD I spent my days working on an IoT Start Up.

Would you say your career has changed since joining YLD?
Of course 😀. I have been working at YLD since the end of 2015. I started as a contractor and at the beginning of 2016, I moved to a permanent position. Apart from being a Software Developer at YLD, I have been given the opportunity to enhance my mentoring and public speaking abilities. I am now working to move to more of a management position.

What advice would you give to someone who would like to down the same route as you?

Take your time.

Every career must have a foundation, and to do it you shouldn’t cut corners. For me, it has been a balance of doing what I know I am good at and getting out of my comfort zone from time to time. One of the great things about working at YLD is that I can have my pace and that I have the support from the ones that work with me.

What tech are you excited about at the moment?

Any tech that is related to DevOps culture. Currently, I am focused on Kubernetes.

What are you currently working on?
Recently I started working with one of our clients to improve their use of Kubernetes. I have also been doing some proof of Concepts to show clients how can they leverage the use of technology as well as working on internal projects.

How does working YLD differ to the companies you’ve worked at before?

The YLD culture is one of those differences. It’s not imposed on people and moves with the people that work here.

Going back to the beginning, what made you decide to start a career in Software Engineering?

It wasn’t a hard decision to make. Being able to make a computer work for you, what is not to like? I took a Bachelor in Computer Science, and I was good at telling a computer what to do.

What’s the best advice you’ve ever been given?

If you are the smartest person in the room you have nothing to learn.

Think about your career so far, what are you most proud of?

That moment when your work goes live. At that moment you feel proud, as the time you invested in that project means it can be used by people to make their lives easier (hopefully).

Lastly, what is your professional long-term goal?
I want to keep growing inside the company. I believe that path will steer me to a leadership position but as in most of the things in my career, that may change 👍.

You can find Filipe online here:

--

--

YLD
YLD Blog

YLD is behind many of the products and services you use every day. We create tech and design capabilities for you, that last beyond us. medium.com/yld-blog