YOLO Report 2023

Yoann Lopez
YO.LO
Published in
26 min readJan 31, 2024

--

Hi everybody!

Happy New Year 2024! It’s crazy to think that something that happened in 2000 is the same as if something in 2000 happened in 1976!!! The year Apple was born, and John Lennon was still alive.

2000 seems so close to me though and in 2000, 1976 seemed so far away to me. I’m getting old. But I’m still happy to get older. I’m wondering when I’ll feel some envy for my youth years. Hopefully, never.

Anyway, welcome to my ninth YOLO report (next year will be the 10th anniversary!). 2023 is over, and I am now 36,570880 years old.

2023 was quite an emotionally challenging year for various reasons (don’t worry, I’m doing great) so I finally started therapy (I’ve been saying that for years now so I’m really proud of myself for taking this decision).

And for the people reading this for the first time, here are the reasons why I started to write the YOLO Report 9 years ago:

I’ve always been a quantified self freak, and as an end-of-year ritual, I like to gather everything I tracked during the previous year, reflect on this, and try to use it to loosely plan my next year. I don't like New Year’s resolutions, but it’s a way to guide me a little bit.

💡 If you’re interested in doing the same, you can jump to the end of this article to learn more about my process.

Why YOLO you might ask yourself? YOLO stands for YOann LOpez.

YOLO has become one of my nicknames with my colleagues and friends.

But why do you do that Yoann? That’s weird!

Why do I like to track stuff? Where does this all come from? Good question!

Why this Year-in-Review Report?

For some people, I’m just a freak, for others, this report can be a source of inspiration, and for another population, this is just a fun thing to read. Why? I have no clue at all! 😅

As far as I’m concerned, taking a step back and looking at what I’ve done in a year is some kind of self-therapy and a good way to see what went awry, what went well, and how I can improve some stuff. But most importantly, I find this to be a fun thing to write. “Weirdo!” you must think. Well, it depends on your point of view I’d argue.

But why? Why am I tracking things like that? The report came way later than my addiction to tracking stuff. So let’s try to start from there.

I think it all started after I got tired of being a little bit overweight when I was something like 14/15 years old, and I decided to take care of my weight and diet.

To be honest, I got a little bit obsessed with my weight, and my calorie intake. This is when I started to track what I was eating, and my weight obsessively.

Well, that’s what you can call an eating disorder (by the way, if you are experiencing some eating disorders, you speak French, and you’re looking for some help, check Amapola, an amazing service launched by a great friend).

Anyway, these trackings led to another, and another, and another… My eating disorder slowly faded away, but my love and obsession for tracking stuff remained. In a healthier way though. Today it’s more out of curiosity, and to build better habits rather than for being a control freak.

I could keep this to myself but putting it in front of the entire world is (i) a way for me to feel some peer pressure, therefore, to try to achieve my goals, (ii) maybe a way to inspire others to do the same thing, and (iii) just for fun. 🤷‍♀️

The YOLO report was born.

If you want to do something similar, please remember that there are as many ways of doing this as there are Human Beings. You could just write what you read, where you’ve been, focus on the new people you met, what you felt, etc.

Do whatever you want to look at your life from a different angle. It’s too easy to forget about all the things happening to you.

And remember that one memory easily leads to another one. Just like the “memory palace” theory. For instance, when I log stuff in my Google sheet budget, even years later, I can remember with whom I was just by looking at the name of a bar or a restaurant.

Once again, I’ll use the great pictures from the New York Times Year in Pictures to illustrate this YOLO Report.

Oh and just a reminder about OKR (Objectives and Key Results): it’s a method I’m using to track some stuff in my life. It’s usually used by companies to make sure that everyone’s job is aligned with the company’s main objective(s): an objective should be ambitious. It could be something like: I want to run a marathon below 4 hours. Each objective is associated with key results. These key results should be means to reach the main objectives. For instance, to run a marathon below 4 hours some key results could be:

  • Run 150 times within this year.
  • Run a 5k below 30 minutes.
  • Eat well 5 times a week.

Stuff like that…

What’s new this year?

I bought a new tracking device around the end of 2023: an Oura Ring. I love it, and I highly recommend it if you want to be serious about your health data. Here’s a referral code if you wish.

Also, just like last year, it’ll be a lighter version because Snowball took most of my time and I did not have the time to track everything. I’ll try to be more consistent in 2024 thanks to my Oura ring and new tracking devices/services.

Table of Content

  • Big Moves ⛰
  • Friends & Family 👫
  • Sports/Physical activities/Health 🏋️‍♀️
  • Sleep 😴
  • Workouts 💪
  • DNA 🧬
  • Tracking my Digital Life 🧑‍💻
  • Books 📚
  • Movies and TV Shows 📺
  • iPhone Screen at The End of The Year 📱
  • Podcasts 📻
  • Side Projects 📝
  • Music 🎶
  • Articles of The Year 📰
  • My Key Learnings in 2022 💡
  • My finances 💰
  • Entrepreneurship 🏗
  • Podcasts I’ve been invited to 🎙
  • Random Stuff 🎲
  • My 2023 Objectives 🔙
  • My 2024 Objectives 🔮
  • How to Write Your Own Year-in-Review

Big moves ⛰

For the first time in my life, I started therapy. I’m not feeling depressed, anxious, or stressed, but I know that some stuff has to be resolved if I want to feel better, and I’m not going to solve those stuff by myself…

Friends & Family 👫

Carolers from a neighborhood group called Susidska Slobidka celebrating the New Year in accordance with the Julian calendar. Ukrainians made a point of widely adopting ancient holiday traditions as the war raged around them.

This year, I’ve decided not to track everything related to visiting my friends and family, but I’ve seen them way more than in previous years.

  • I saw my parents about 4 or 5 times (just like in 2021) compared to 3 times in 2022.
  • I saw my Parisian friends more often than the previous year.
  • I managed to see my friends in the South more than usual.

Even though I’m freer because I launched my own business, it does not mean I can do whatever I want… I’m working more than when I was a full-time employee or a freelancer…

I don’t feel like I can work from wherever I want. I need the atmosphere of my house to be more productive.

I’d like to take more time for myself in 2024, but it means that I’ll have to learn how to delegate more tasks and hire more people. This has never been an easy thing to do for me… It was true last year, and it is still true today.

Sports, Physical Activities & Health 🏋️‍♀️

Coco Gauff, 19, collapsed on the court after defeating Aryna Sabalenka of Belarus to win the women’s singles title at the U.S. Open. With a stirring, three-set, back-from-the-dead victory, Gauff captured her first Grand Slam title. — Karsten Moran for The New York Times

As already said, this is where my passion for tracking things started. I started to track my weight, then the stuff I ate, then my runs, my steps, etc.

Today I’m less extreme, and I stopped tracking all the things I’m eating, I do not weigh myself every day (thank god), but I keep tracking quite a lot of stuff. But, this year, I tracked way fewer things because I was too busy (and it’s not a bad thing).

Weight ⚖️

  • As usual, after gaining a little bit of weight at the end of 2022, I went back to my average weight (around 60 kilograms).
  • In 2024, I’d like to go back to 62 or 63 kilograms. How? Doing more sports.

running 🏃

2022 was a disaster when it came to running, but 2023 was a bit better! My injury got better and better, and it seems that it’s finally over at the moment.

  • I ran 52 times this year. 44 % more than in 2022 (36 times).
  • I ran a total of about 160 kilometers or 19.5% more than in 2022 (234 km).
  • I ran a total of 15 hours or the same amount as last year. how is that possible? Because last year I had to walk during my runs to heal my injury?
  • I burnt about 9925 (23% more than last year). That’s the equivalent of 19 Big Macs (only…).
  • Just like last year (and since I’ve stopped working a regular 9-to-5 job), I ran mainly during the evenings.

Walking + Running 🚶‍♂️

  • In 2023, I walked and ran a total of 2,467,341 steps (12% less than in 2022) or 1784 kilometers. This is almost equal to a walk from Paris to Stockholm (vs Paris to Kyiv last year). 👇
  • 2023’s activity pattern regarding my walks looks almost the same as the 2022’s one. 👇

2023

2022

  • My daily average number of steps for 2023 is 7,172 vs 7,821 in 2022. Around 8% fewer steps per day. I should try to be more active in 2024!
  • My most active month this year was August once again with 8,193 steps per day and 253,992 steps during this month.
  • This year, the least active month was September with 6,176 steps per day. Usually, the big loser is February…
  • The day I walked the most was the 10th of August with 21,597 steps whereas last year’s record was 25,472 steps in May.

Sleep 😴

  • I slept around 3,098 hours or 129 days. Almost the same as in 2022.
  • I slept an average of 8 hours and 14 minutes per day.
  • My sleep quality dramatically decreased in 2023. I should pay attention to this in 2024. It’ll be nice to have sleep data thanks to the Oura Ring:
  • In 2020, because of the Covid lockdown, I went to bed pretty late, but in 2021, and even more in 2022, everything went back to normal. In 2023, I started to go to bed later though. Almost like in 2020. Why? I’m not sure…
  • In 2023, I woke up quite around the same time as 2022 with a tendency to wake up earlier by the end of the year:
  • Regarding my time in bed, and the time I was asleep, they both decreased in 2023. 👇
  • It took me a bit less time in 2023 to fall asleep compared to 2022:

When we look at the average time to fall asleep per day, it is pretty interesting. For some reason, it on Wednesday that it takes me longer to fall asleep. Why? Maybe I’m more anxious/stressed on Wednesdays? I know why it takes me longer on Sundays though… Because I usually wake up way later on Sunday mornings, and I try to go to bed as early as possible on Sundays.

Workouts 💪

Since 2019, my routine has been pretty simple. 3 times a week I do:

  • 100 abs
  • 100 situps
  • 60 pull-ups

Therefore, last year, I did last around:

  • 14,400 abs.
  • 14,400 situps.
  • 8640 pull-ups.

DNA 🧬

  • In 2018 I did a DNA test (23andme) in New York City (mainly because they had the health part in the US while it was forbidden for them to sell it in France.). In 2019 they updated my results with more accuracy. In 2020 they did the same. No update in 2021, 2022, and 2023. 👆
  • Here are the ones from the previous years: 👇
  • And here’s my ancestry timeline:

It means that:

  • One of my grandparents was 100% from Iran (or nearby). Probably 100% Armenian as my mother’s name is Aydjian (the names ending in “ian” are usually Armenian.
  • One of my grandparents was 100% Iberian (probably the parents of my dad or great-grandparents who were Spanish: Lopez).

Here’s the updated map of my relatives all around the world.

23andme says that I have 1247 relatives registered on your website:

My Neanderthal Ancestry

This hasn’t changed since last year so I’ll just copy-paste what I wrote in 2018.

As you probably already know, We, the Homo Sapiens Species, used to live with another species of humans (in the genus Homo): the Neanderthal. Unfortunately for them, it’s really likely that we exterminated them because of our better ability to communicate and coordinate as a group (certainly through the birth of Culture, rituals, etc.), which helped us to build better strategies to conquer new territories and kill these rivals. But, because some Homo Sapiens and Neanderthal were probably good people willing to make love, not war, the two species had some babies together, that’s why we still find some Neanderthal variants in our DNA. If you want to learn more about this read the book Sapiens: a brief history of humankind. I apologize to my scientific friends if I made some mistakes.

Thanks to 23andme, I learned that I have 250 variants which is a smaller number than 80% of 23andme customers.

Here’s my wellness report:

Here are my traits:

Here are my health predispositions:

And my carrier status:

Tracking my Digital Life 💻

Children participating in a light therapy activity during Hanukkah celebrations at Halom, a Jewish community center. Brendan Hoffman for The New York Times

My Rescue Time app tracked 2,058 hours of work/leisure on my MacBook :

Almost 92 days or 3 months (+7% YoY)! Last year, I spent 86 days, or 2.8 months on my MacBook.

My iPhone tells me that I’m spending about 5 hours per day on it (same as last year):

It means that I’m also spending about 1,825 hours per year on my iPhone or 76 days.

It means that if I’m adding my MacBook + my iPhone screen time, I spent about 168 days online in 2023 or 5.6 months (+3.7% YoY)!

I’m leaving in the metaverse. 😅

Some highlights:

Here are the apps I used the most in 2023:

  • I spent 424 hours or 17.6 days in my inbox (Superhuman) vs 553 in 2022 (-23.7% YoY). Why such a decrease? I believe it’s because I’m spending more time reading my emails on my iPhone, and RecueTime is not tracking it.
  • I spent 325 hours on Snowball’s website (13.5 days). +7.6% YoY.
  • Only 32 hours on LinkedIn whereas I spent 132 hours on the social network in 2022. That’s a 75.7% decrease! I spent almost 6 months without writing a single post. That’s refreshing. :)
  • I spent 167 hours (almost 7 entire days) communicating with my team on Slack.
  • I spent 69 hours engaging with the Snowball’s community on Discord.
  • I spent 67 hours or 2.8 days on meetings.
  • And I spent only 18 hours on ChatGPT. :)

Books 📚

THE SAME DISASTER AS IN 2022 HAPPENED ONCE AGAIN IN 2023…

I read 0 book. It’s only the second time this happened to me. The first time was in 2022.

It does not mean I’m not reading! On the contrary. I spend hours reading newsletters and articles each day. But they’re all related to Snowball (finance, tech, economics).

I hope I’ll break this streak in 2024.

Movies and TV Shows 🎬

I watched 18 movies in 2023.

I started only one TV show: Succession (I’m not done yet).

My favorite movie was: Spider-Man: Across the Spider-verse

Once again, just like in 2022, my favorite movie in 2023 was an animated movie:

Why? Mainly because it was a visually stunning film.

It’s been a while since I last saw a movie with such innovative aesthetics.

On top of that, the scenario was good, and the soundtrack was amazing.

I highly recommend it, even if you’re not a superhero kind of person.

TV Shows 📺

My favorite TV Show of 2023: Succession.

It’s taking me forever to watch it, but I hope I’ll be done by the end of 2024.

This TV show is just amazing. The actors are great, the characters are amazing, and it’s extremely well-written.

And if you happen to like entrepreneurship/business, you’ve just hit the jackpot with this show.

If Netflix is Android (more scale), HBO is definitely Apple (better quality). Haha, don’t hate me for having said that. 😬

My iPhone Home Screen at the End of the Year 📱

Some noticeable things?

Not much, my home screen hasn’t changed at all.

  • The “money” folder is shrinking a little bit. 45 finance apps (vs 49 last year).

Podcasts 📻

I started to listen to the Lex Fridman Podcast, and it’s really good. Especially, if you’re a curious geek like me. I like Lex's personality. A very down-to-earth and (most of the time) nuanced guy.

Here are the ones I liked:

Side Projects 📝

I did not do much once again. Snowball took most of my time this year.

Even though I have found some people to revive Happenstance in 2022, the project did not move forward last year unfortunately. Here are some updates + reminders of my side projects.

Happenstance

Sarah Marga and I launched Happenstance on Product Hunt (Check it out here) at the beginning of 2016. Just like in 2017, 2018, and 2019, the project is still on hold as we need to automate everything. We have a waiting list of more than 5,000 people now. I’m sure it could be a great service. I just need to devote more time and money to this project.

Since 2016 the tech landscape has tremendously evolved. More and more no-code tools have seen the light and I’m sure we could automate this service through one of these tools.

Just a reminder about what is happenstance:

We created happenstance because we wanted to meet new interesting people, with no other purpose than sharing thoughts, ideas, and life experience. We had that burning desire to expand our world, and to discover the lives and adventures of other people we don’t know yet. Although internet is pretty great for finding jobs, dates, and old friends, there is no service that would allow us to meet some random people, who are obviously cool and curious just like you (and us).

With Happenstance, we want to allow everyone to meet someone new and different, but yet kind of similar. Maybe a teacher from Japan, or a student in Europe, or a traveler in Asia, or a journalist from Africa, or a gardener, or a dentist, or an archeologist, or a professional gamer, or…well you get it.

Update: as I said earlier, 2 people started to help me revive this project at the end of 2022, but we did not manage to relaunch it in 2023... If you’re ready for this challenge, let me know!

Unmakr

Unmakr is still alive but not active at all… Kinou (AKA Christophe) and I started a project called Unmakr where we pick our favorite iconic objects and we tear them apart to observe their guts. Last year we did not do anything. You can still follow us on Medium or Instagram.

One way I’d like to make this project evolve is to also interview a product manager, project manager, or developer who’s worked on the product we’re unmaking, and to learn a bit more about what happened behind the curtain.

I might not be able to work again on this project while working for Snowball. It might be something to work on when I retire…

Music 🎶

The conductor Gustavo Dudamel leading the New York Philharmonic in a rehearsal of Mahler’s Ninth Symphony. He had recently been named the Philharmonic’s next music director, starting in 2026. James Estrin/The New York Times
  • I forgot to save my Spotify wrapped so I have no idea how much music I listened to in 2023…
  • My top artist was Keaton Henson... If you want to get depressed, listen to Keaton. 😅
  • Here’s the playlist of my top songs of the year 2023.
  • Since 2016 I have tracked my music by creating monthly playlists. Every time I like a song a lot I add it to my playlist. You can find all of them on my Spotify profile.

Articles of The Year 📰

This year, I did not read a lot of ‘real” articles, but mainly newsletters.

But here are my two favorite articles of the year:

It seems paradoxical that the pursuit of happiness should generate sadness, but happiness is a ghost, and chasing a ghost can never be a satisfying experience.

  • The Double Bind Theory — Or Why Sensationalism (Unfortunately) Works: if you knew me personally, you’d know that even though I used to be a marketer, I truly hate the kind of marketing that usually works: sensationalism. That’s probably why this article resonated. This article shows why sensationalism always wins… It doesn’t mean we should not continue to fight against it.

My Key Learnings in 2023 💡

Each time I ran into some great quotes, ideas, and concepts, I wrote them down in a Note folder on my iPhone. Now it’s time for me to share them with the world as some of them might be useful for you.

You can read them on slideshare: 👇

My Personal Finance 💰

This section will always have a special taste for me as it’s the reason why I started Snowball. Indeed, after publishing my YOLO Report 2019, and adding for the first time a personal finance part, I received dozens of questions from friends and strangers regarding investing issues. That’s where the idea to write about personal finance started.

Here’s the related OKR for this year.

I did quite well again.

  • I managed to save more than €1,000 per month except for a couple of months. I saved and invested about €19,000 (36% more than in 2022).
  • We did not manage to buy a new flat or building with my friends.

Breakdown

Here’s the breakdown of my budget:

2023

Compared to 2022:

Some stuff to highlight:

  • The rent budget did not move since I live in the same place.
  • I spent a bit more on groceries, but still very little (I eat outside or order food too often).
  • I spent way more money at restaurants. €5162 vs €3334 last year. A 35% increase.
  • I spent too much money at bars: €1554 vs. €887 last year. A 43% increase.
  • I spent 0€ on clothes.

Investments

In 2020, this passion of mine, investing & wealth management, actually became my full-time job. A lot of people think that I like money just for the sake of money, but I like money because I love to build stuff and to build stuff that can have an impact on society, you need money and time. Investing is a way not only to make your money grow but most importantly to buy you time in the future. Here’s the recap of my year regarding my investments. What did I invest in?

  • Public Stocks
  • Managed fund
  • Startup
  • Collectibles
  • Cryptos
  • Art

In December 2022 my net worth (without real estate) was €197,775.

At the moment, the total value of my portfolio is close to €333,291, or a 68.5% increase compared to last year:

It includes the new investments (around €19,000) so if you subtract the new investments, my portfolio would have increased by less than 68.5%. 2023 was quite a great year for investors. :)

The current value of my portfolio does not include the unrealized gains and/or losses of my startup investments, which could add (or subtract) more % to my gains or losses. Indeed I just used the purchase price of my startup stock, and not their current value since it’s pretty hard to find.

Some big changes compared to last year.

  • I simplified my stock portfolio. I own less than 10 stocks at the moment.
  • I’m investing more money in ETF in my PEA.

Private equity (Startups)

In 2023 I invested in a new startup, and I did my first exit:

Old investments:

  • €5,000 invested in Comet.
  • €5,000 in Figures.
  • €1,000 in Curve, and €1,500 in Citymapper through Crowdcube. Citymapper has been acquired so I’ll get some money back, but probably way less than €1,500.
  • $2,000 In the Neobank Mercury in the US through Wefunder.
  • €1,000 invested in a beer company that I love: Brewdog.

Art and collectibles

Masterworks

I have $5,000 invested in two artworks on Masterworks, a product allowing you to buy fractional shares of paintings from great masters (Warhol, Bastiat, Soulages…). Here’s my portfolio:

  • $2,500 in a Pierre Soulages
  • $2,500 in an Alex Katz

But when it comes to alternative investments and collectibles, once again, I went a bit overboard 😅.

Daniel Arsham

I love this artist, not sure I’ll ever be able to make money by collecting some of his creations, but on top of the DeLorean I bought in 2021:

And the collab he made with Rimowa (a German suitcase manufacturer) in 2022:

I bought a new collaboration he made with Hot Wheels (Mattel) this year:

Mattel creations

  • 2 Bad Muhammad Ali figurines:

LEGO

I bought some new LEGO sets:

  • 3 LEGO House.
  • 1 Eiffel Tower (but I’m planning to build that one).

OTHER COLLECTIBLES

Fun fact: I bought them at Sotheby’s, and they were shipped in this gigantic box made of wood. They take shipping seriously at Sotheby’s. 😅

  • And here’s my latest “folie”:

Entrepreneurship 🏗

In this section, I’ll detail what happened in my entrepreneurial life.

Snowball ❄️

In March 2020, I launched a tiny newsletter about personal finance called Snowball, which became my main project a few months later.

The long-term vision is to build a full-fledged product to help people manage and build their wealth. Wealth management for Humans in a nutshell. This is the first step. If you wanna read more about the long-term vision of Snowball, you can read this edition of Behind the Curtain.

Here are some key figures about Snowball this year:

The most exciting news regarding Snowball is linked to its team:

  • I started to build the core team (employees): Léa (Design), Emeline (tech), Clément (Tech), and Valentine (product). But Valentine left the company in December 2023.
  • And the team of Creators (freelancers): Pauline, Mylène, Margaux, Alice, Delphine, Chris, Vincent, Nico, JC, Mathieu, tx, Gustave.

Here are some other figures:

  • €437,000 of annual revenues vs €400,000 last year (+9.2%).
  • More than 54k readers (+19%) including more than 4000 Premium members.
  • Revenues from paid subscriptions are stagnating, but advertising revenues have increased. We have to keep in mind that we did not launch any acquisition campaign. This is a 2024 objective to boost our growth.
  • More than 5800 “L’effet Snowball” books have been sold so far. In the book industry, in France, 5000 thousand sales are considered to be a good figure. Curious about how much money I made so far? Around €8000 so far.
  • We received a €500k loan from BPI France.
  • 380 editions of Snowball have been sent.
  • We wrote 1,622,600 words. As a comparison, the entire Harry Potter saga is composed of 1 084 170 words.
  • If you read french, you can read the full Snowball Year in Review by clicking here.

If you want to follow Snowball you have some options available to you:

Real-Estate 🏠

This is how the building we bought in the South of France (Fréjus) looked like in 2019:

And this is what it looks like today:

  • Just like we sold aflat for about €70k in 2022, we sold another flat for around €110,000. As a reminder, we paid for the entire building + all the refurbishing €320,000 more or less. We still own 3 flats that we’re renting long term (we’re cash flow positive).

Podcasts & TV🎙

In 2023, I’ve been invited to way less podcasts than in 2022. Here they are (all of them are in French 🇫🇷):

Since September 2023, I’m on BFM Business (TV, radio & podcast) every other Thursday on the show “Tout pour investir”.

Random stuff 🎲

  • In 2023 I drank about 300 liters of beer (just like last year). Once again, that’s way too much… I believe that the therapy I’ve started will also help me on this side.
  • The month I drank the most beers was September with 40 liters. It was a pretty hard month emotionally speaking.
  • The month I drank the least beers: January with 17 liters.
  • Once again, I cut my hair 4 times in 2023.
  • I cut my nails 35 times (+ 0% compared to 2021 and 2022. It’s crazy how consistent it is).
  • My Codex Vitae or “book of life” is now updated→ Yoann’s Codex Vitae.

My 2022 Objectives 🔙

Let’s see what happens in 2023 regarding my personal OKRs:

Another disaster this year! I completed only 30.2% of the objectives I set last year (basically like in 2022). Probably because I focused most of my time on Snowball (again)… Not necessarily a bad thing though… It’s ok to rearrange your objectives if you feel it’s necessary.

I did OK here, I invested more than my objectives, but we were not able to buy some new real estate with my friends.

I did quite OK here as well even though I wasn’t able to run as much as I liked because of an injury.

But most importantly, I started a therapy! Finally.

I should focus on decreasing my alcohol consumption next year (not that easy when you live in a big city like Paris…).

I did not even start the two following objectives by lack of time… I should really better organize my days in 2024.

My 2024 Objectives 🔮

As you’ve already seen, I’ll use the OKRs method to design, follow, and achieve my 2022 objectives. Some are short-term goals, others are long-term ones that will keep showing up year after year (like financial independence for instance).

As a reminder, OKR stands for Objectives & Key Results. Objectives should be ambitious and inspiring, they are what you want to achieve. For instance: Enhance your overall health. Key Results should be ambitious and measurable. They are the different things you have to achieve to reach your objectives. For instance, to enhance your overall health you’ll have to:

  • Exercise 3 times per week or 156 times a year
  • 4 days/week without alcohol or 156 days cold turkey
  • etc.

You can check, comment, or copy my OKRs spreadsheet if you want to do the same for you. Here they are. Otherwise here are the screenshots of my OKRs. I’ve decided to be less even less optimistic this year:

Those objectives are not set in stone. They’re guidelines. A North Star. I can change them whenever I want.

✨ BONUS — HOW TO WRITE YOUR OWN YEAR IN REVIEW ✨

Here’s a quick guide on how I collect and write my year in review.

  • I use my iPhone 15 pro (€1,250), my Apple watch Ultra (around €900), my Oura Ring (€450) and my Macbook Pro (€2000) as electronic devices. You can spend way less though to track your data. A regular smartphone and some Google Sheets is more than enough to get started.
  • For tracking my weight I’m using a Withings health scale (€100) paired with the Gyroscope app (€60/year).
  • I use Runkeeper go (€30/year) for tracking my runs paired with Gyroscope.
  • For tracking my sleep I use the Sleep Cycle (free) app on my iPhone.
  • For tracking the books I read, I’m using Goodreads (free). Which is also great to save books you want to read later or discover new ones + Gsheet.
  • For tracking the movies I watch, I’m using a simple Gsheet (free).
  • For tracking my TV show, I’m using a Google Sheet (free).
  • For tracking my music I’m using Spotify Year in Review.
  • For tracking my digital activity (app/website usage on my mac), I’m using Rescue Time (Paid + free) paired with Gyroscope.
  • For tracking random stuff like my beer consumption I’m using a simple Google Sheet (free) that I’m filling out every day.
  • For tracking my OKRs, I’m using a Gsheet (free).
  • For tracking my personal finance I use a Google Sheet + the different platforms I’m using to invest.
  • At the end of December, I gather all the data in a note saved on the Mac Notes app, then I start writing this medium article. It usually takes me a week (or a month like this year) to finish it.
  • I did my DNA analysis through 23andme (about $200).

Thanks for reading!

Happy 2024! I know it’s late…

Yoann ❤️

P.S: you can follow me on Linkedin, and Twitter, and you can subscribe to Snowball here + follow Snowball on Linkedin, Twitter, Instagram

--

--

Yoann Lopez
YO.LO

On the quest to creating a better experience of life