lenk, Switzerland/yoga to have fun

All In Good Time

Good things come to those who wait

Ingrid Von Burg
Yoga Off The Mat
Published in
2 min readOct 14, 2013

--

For months now, I have been trying to schedule some time to move and organize my things in storage. Often this task is daunting, but I have some extra motivation to do this because my things are in a wonderful place — Switzerland.

At the same time, it is 6000 miles away and it seemed that something would always come up to either delay it or provide an alternate solution to having me go there again. This experience has taught me that all things happen “in good time,” as the saying goes.

What I learned from this experience is first we need to be patient. We need to know that if the solution is not apparent, it may mean that we need to collect more information and/or wait for more information to come in. While we are being patient, we can often come up with solutions that we may never have thought of. This happened when my cousin emailed me from Zurich on another topic, and it occurred to me to ask him if he was available to help me out.

The solution didn’t turn out to be the final one, but it did connect me to his Mom and new storage. Next, it’s important to listen. Our intuition will often tell us if something is right at the moment or if there is more. This may often frustrate others as we remain silent for some time, but if we close our eyes and get quiet, we will know eventually what path to take.

My mother for example, doesn’t know how I do it, and often will get anxious as I wait to develop a solution, but gratefully, she has seen that I have a “good head on my shoulders,” as my dad says, and that everything always turns out fine.

For me, all of a sudden a window of opportunity appeared this October. My schedule was clear, flight prices had dropped, and even my boyfriend’s slow season at work had begun, so he would be able to come with me to help. He also will be able to visit a business colleague of his while we are there to put the icing on the cake.

This example reminded me that often we are unsure of a solution and can’t find one, or we try to force a solution. “All in good time” reminds me to look at the big picture and see that God always has a solution for us.

--

--

Ingrid Von Burg
Yoga Off The Mat

Engineer and MBA who now teaches yoga and writes a spiritual blog that connects the two worlds. Star of international dvds.