Finding the Perfect Things Right At Home

When you really think about it, what would you really like?

Ingrid Von Burg
Yoga Off The Mat
2 min readFeb 1, 2014

--

Sometimes when I have an event to go to and I can’t decide what to wear, I imagine that I am in my favorite department store. I tell myself that I can choose whatever I would like off the racks in order to make what would be the most appropriate and perfect outfit for the event. What I have found from this exercise is that 99.9% of the time, I realize that the items I choose I already have in my closet.

I thought of this today as I looked at projects I wished I had, goals I wish I had accomplished, and the rest of the things on the list entitled “Life Would Be Perfect, If….” I decided to recreate the same exercise I do with my wardrobe as I do with objectives in my life.

It was no surprise that, just like realizing that I already had the perfect outfit, I realized I had everything I wanted right now. For example, if I had to create my perfect life right now, I would include things on the list like:

• Having enough time to take my dog on daily walks;
• Having enough time to go to church and go to yoga in order to strengthen my spiritual practice;
• Having a caring, committed relationship with a strong foundation;
• Having healthy parents and family with whom I have strong friendships.

My little dog, Maggie, and I

Often, we get so busy and caught up in what we don’t have. We focus only on what could possibly fulfill us more, why we aren’t fulfilled right now, or what other people have that we don’t. After prioritizing what I really enjoy and need at this stage of my life, I realize I have that all right here and right now.

It is with these thoughts that I encourage you to perform the same exercise. When you really think about it, what would you really like?

--

--

Ingrid Von Burg
Yoga Off The Mat

Engineer and MBA who now teaches yoga and writes a spiritual blog that connects the two worlds. Star of international dvds.