Say What You Wanna Say…

and let the words fall out.

Ingrid Von Burg
Yoga Off The Mat
Published in
2 min readOct 24, 2013

--

It isn’t often that a song makes me want to start dancing while I am walking my dog and not care if anyone is watching. On top of the snappy tune, the message is a positive one that encourages me to continue dancing and embrace the feelings that come with it.

SARA BAREILLES’ “BRAVE”
You can be amazing
You can turn a phrase into a weapon or a drug
You can be the outcast,
Or be the backlash of somebody’s lack of love,
Or you can start speaking up.
Nothing’s gonna hurt you the way that words do
When they settle ‘neath your skin.
Kept on the inside and no sunlight
Sometimes a shadow wins.
But I wonder what would happen if you

Say what you wanna say
And let the words fall out
Honestly I wanna see you be brave

I realized that when I dance like no one is watching, I am energized to do things in my life that are often held back by fear, self-doubt, or inhibitions. After a session like this, I come back feeling excited and ready to take on projects that perhaps I had been putting off for weeks due to these internal discussions in my head.

This idea reminded me of a message on Facebook this week sent by a friend who has recently started her own fitness business and who was on my swim team when we were teenagers. Her message said, “You are only one workout away from a good mood”.

I often find myself inspired to update my status with hope and optimism after coming out of a yoga class. In addition, this week, I have been taking an aerobics class at the gym. I am so thankful for the inspiring teacher because after an hour, I am ready to take on the world, aka the work that waits sitting on my desk.

It is with these thoughts that I encourage you to listen to Sara’s song or find one of your own that makes you go dancing in the streets. Or find your way onto a yoga mat or into a work out. As you see here in the video of Maggie and me, it’s sure to inspire.

--

--

Ingrid Von Burg
Yoga Off The Mat

Engineer and MBA who now teaches yoga and writes a spiritual blog that connects the two worlds. Star of international dvds.