10 Steps to Overcoming Self-Doubt

“Be yourself, everyone else is taken” Oscar Wilde.

Yoga AU & NZ Staff
Yoga Today
5 min readMay 25, 2018

--

How ironic that when I sit down to pen an article on overcoming self-doubt in yoga, I am raked by the self-same problem.

You see, I have a confession to make. I am a recent yoga grad. With just 365 days of experience as a teacher behind me, I am often crushed under the weight of self-doubt. Will my students like me? Will they come back? Can I keep everyone safe? How long will I last on this journey and the number one — are my tights cool enough?

There are many new teachers out there who feel this way. And here are just 10 self-care tips that I have found got me through this first year.

1. You are not alone, you are well supported. I am extremely lucky that I live in a big vibrant city (who am I kidding, it’s Canberra). I have the support of an amazing yoga training school and the whole Yoga Trinity extended family to lean on in those times when I feel like I just can’t do this. I am loved and challenged and guided. But even if you don’t have this kind of support or are stuck on a tropical island in the middle of nowhere, there are many online support groups for yoga teachers. If you are lucky enough to have a senior teacher nearby, see if they are willing to be a mentor. Good guidance can make all the difference when self-doubt starts to step in.

2. You got this. This should be your mantra. Where intention goes, energy follows. You can do this, you are enough. You have enough knowledge, experience, and fabulousness to do all that you need to do. Stay in your comfort zone of what you have learnt, and build your experience.

Don’t feel tempted to stray into areas that you know nothing about. Unless you are trained in other areas you are a yoga teacher. Make it clear to your students if they ask questions about nutrition, relationships, homeopathy, that those are areas where all you can do is refer them on.

3. Do not neglect your own practice. I have taken on so many classes this year that I have hobbled, broken and drained, into my own trainer’s studio only to have him demand that I rest rather than practice. It may be just reading your yoga journal on your mat for 20 minutes; it may be a meditation; it may be a flow in the park between classes, but you are important, you matter, and you will teach better when you have an established routine practice.

4. Learn to say no: Look in the mirror and practice it.

• No. I will not do that class for free.

• No. I will not undervalue my skills and experience.

• No. I cannot do three back to back classes.

• No. You can’t attend my class without doctor’s clearance.

Have policies and procedures to back you up. Rely on them, they are your back bone, they are the tadasana for your yoga business.

5. Do your gym homework. There is plenty of yoga work out there so when you approach a studio or they approach you, do your homework:

• Is this place for me?

• Is the style of teaching right?

• What are the clients looking for?

• Do the shifts fit in with my schedule?

• What remuneration will I receive?

• Who will fill in if I get sick?

• Are all the props and mats supplied?

Have a checklist with you and take it to interview, because in the heat of the moment little things are often overlooked.

6. Find a yoga bestie or group of besties. Yoga besties do things that all normal besties do, but they also take your classes when you are sick, bring you into their studio, go with you to teacher training retreats, massage your back, fetch you cups of tea, and sing the Gayatrimantra at the top of their lungs in pubs.

7. Be you. We have all gone to classes where the teacher has an irritating fake yoga voice, tries so hard to please everyone, that no-one enjoys the practice, or copies a famous yogi’s sequence or favourite saying. People are in your class for you. And they are there to practice. So as much it is about you, it is also not about you. For whatever reason some people stay, some may walk out, some may come week after week, some once a month. But you will remain, your unique yoga style and interpretation will remain.

8. Keep the knowledge fire alive. But with a slow burn. When I first qualified I wanted to know everything that I could about all different kinds of yoga. I wanted to train in yin, pregnancy, kids, chair, aerial, sup board, cat yoga, whatever I could. Yes we all need continuing education credits, but take it easy. Take some time to find out your true deeper interests, make some time to investigate the different options available and what is in your financial budget as well as your time and emotional budget.

9. Do your admin. Really. Set time aside each week to catch up on taxes, pay insurance, memberships, web site management, social media posts, email newsletters. If you don’t stay on top of it, it can get overwhelming or all consuming. Be rigid. 3–5pm on Tuesdays for example are my business hours. If it doesn’t take that long to get on top of paperwork, then I watch a ted talk on business or listen to a podcast while I clean the bathroom.

10. You are here for the long haul. Be kind to yourself, enjoy the journey as much as the destination, and while there may be derailments, delays, lost luggage, tears, financial burdens, family neglect, and injuries, there will also be incredible rewards of guiding students, finding peace and meditation in your teachings, and keeping it all strong and alive.

Dr Allie Mokany (Ph.D) is director at Yoga HQ. Allie grew up in the Australian Bush, surrounded by nature. She has a doctorate in ecology, and she has practiced yoga since following her mother to classes as a tot. She is a qualified Vinyasa flow yoga teacher, kids yoga teacher and Thai Yoga massusse. She is passionate about bringing yoga and nature together and works tirelessly to promote education opportunities for young women.

--

--