How A Bonsai Taught Me To Attract Love, Harmony, and Wealth

How can you be if you’re always striving to become?

Israel Pasos
Kiva Yoga Institute
2 min readApr 24, 2017

--

It was an ordinary spring day in San Francisco, except I had just finished one of my most intense Mysore practices.

Mysore, if you’re not familiar with it, is a style of Ashtanga Yoga. It consists of practicing asanas with fellow yogis in a shala. It’s practiced daily except Saturdays or Moon days. You begin as early as possible and practice lasts between 45 minutes to 3 hours, depending on your level. Mysore is intense, it requires dedication and devotion.

That day, I cried during practice. Not because of physical pain but rather because the exhaustion had completely cleared my mind and I was presented with a dark side of myself that was disguised as self-righteousness. As I observed it, my heart and body contracted. What followed was a burst of energy and emotions. I couldn’t stop crying. Something within had broken and had now been released.

I rode back home, after the rain stopped, feeling lighter and more open than ever. I was perceiving everything.

When I got home, I quickly put my mat and things aside. I wanted to be out in nature during such a state of mind. Then, I saw Piernas, my ginseng bonsai.

Piernas, in my bedroom in SF.

He was looking majestic in the middle of the dining room. I remembered it was time for me to water him. I went to the kitchen, filled up the garden sprayer, mixed in some nutrients, and went back to Piernas.

I started spraying him and then it hit me.
Continue Reading…

--

--

Israel Pasos
Kiva Yoga Institute

Co-Founder of Kiva Yoga Institute 🌙🙏🏻 Yogi 🌿 Ayurveda 🍄 Plant Medicine NEXT RETREAT: Feb. 1–5 2018 https://kiva.yoga/