How I Returned To Where I Started, To Know Myself For The First Time

Israel Pasos
Kiva Yoga Institute
2 min readApr 11, 2017

The Digital Aztec King

It’s 3 AM in the morning and I’m still at the office. I’m writing the final code modules for a system we are developing for Latin America’s largest music production company. My eyes hurt and my back is killing me, it seems I’ve been under the coder’s high for hours. I take a break and as I stand up to stretch, I admire our brand new studio that holds twenty of the brightest coders and digital artists Mexico has to offer. My brother Dan, a friend of ours, and I have successfully outgrown the three-person closet above the butcher house where occasionally we had to dodge hanging beef in the main entrance, Rocky Balboa style.

We worked with some of the largest and coolest brands of the time creating digital experiences, however, this wasn’t enough for me. We turned down clients regularly. Business was booming but I couldn’t shake the fact that this world-class team we had built was underused.

We worked with world-renowned brands like Huggies and Warner Music.

For months, I told my partners it was time to take the risk and open offices in the US. They didn’t share my view. Things were great, why change? It would seem they were right. I had money, cars, fame, and I was engaged to a smart, gorgeous, alpha woman from a prominent family; I had it all.

One day, I get a call from the Mexican Department of Economics. We were making headlines, they heard about our business, and wanted to help us. They would provide the office space and consultants so we could expand to the US. The only requirement was to increase our headcount in Mexico as the business grew. I ran the numbers and even with their help, this was undoubtedly going to be a risky and expensive venture. After months of failed attempts at trying to convince my partners, fear had gotten the best of me. The words “you can lose it all” kept playing in my mind. Finally, I talked to my partners and after a few days of discussions, we decided to take the chance.

Not a King After All

Continue Reading…

--

--

Israel Pasos
Kiva Yoga Institute

Co-Founder of Kiva Yoga Institute 🌙🙏🏻 Yogi 🌿 Ayurveda 🍄 Plant Medicine NEXT RETREAT: Feb. 1–5 2018 https://kiva.yoga/