How To Stop Yourself From Energetic Freeloading

“Expanding the space between emotion and impulse action.”

Krystal Ariel
Kiva Yoga Institute
2 min readApr 28, 2017

--

Me. Freeloading.

I enjoy listening to and helping loved ones find clarity when they’re going through rough times with partners, families, jobs or whatever. In the same way, I feel blessed to have so many amazing people around me who are there when I need them. Asking for help has never been a hurdle for me and I make sure those I love know they can reach out and do the same but is there such a thing as too much help?

The fine line - asking for help vs emotional freeloading.

A few weeks ago, my husband and I got into an argument and I was thinking this is the end. I went into full panic mode and didn’t know what to do with myself. I’m a sensitive person who often runs away with her emotions. I’m the brightest star in the sky when these emotions are positive, full of love and light! But when it’s thrown off balance, the earth shatters with drama. I impulsively ran to the phone, seeking comfort. I rang three of my closest confidants to no avail. No one picked up. They had company, they were out having a good time, or they were just busy with their own lives. There I was, on the floor, full of tears, and no one to help me with my problem. That’s when it hit me. MY PROBLEM!

I’m so glad no one picked up because it forced me to sit in my shit instead of unloading it onto someone else. Once I realized I was going to have to deal with this myself, awareness began to creep in. I observed my behavioral patterns for what they were. Have I always been this quick on the trigger? Do I always cry this much? I’ve gotten so accustomed to reaching out and asking for help when I am in an emotional jam that I don’t take the time to work it out my own. Was I really reaching out for help or was I just an energetic freeloader?

That night, I made a list of steps to help me expand the space between thought/emotion and impulse action.
Continue Reading…

--

--