How I Knew I was an Entrepreneur

Elizabeth
You Are Who You Are
4 min readDec 18, 2016

Most entrepreneurs had signs they were an entrepreneur well before they knew they were one.

As a child, I definitely had signs. One, I realized you needed to take risks in order to get a reward. Monopoly was my favorite game. I had a strategy that won almost every time. It involved risk, living below my means and being broke for a while. People thought I was crazy and they never understood how I would end up winning after not having money most of the game. Well all my money was tied up in properties that they kept paying me for. I took a risk, and my reward paid off at the end.

Another sign. My family lived in a wealthy town and was not wealthy. As I got older this became tougher in school and social settings. So I took matters into my own hands. At 11 I got my babysitting license and started the grind. I quickly was babysitting for half the town, I was fought over by friends trying to all go out together but I was babysitter they all used. I sacrificed my social life because I realized the more I hours I put in, the more money I got out. I didn’t get a job until I was 18 because I loved the flexibility of choosing my hours, my pay and having control over what I made. Even at 18, I didn’t look for a job, I fell into one.

Side note, to this day I still have never interviewed for a job. Ever. Another sign.

It was at this job(several years later) when I realized I was entrepreneur and not made to work 9–5. I was a teacher. I went to school for early childhood education and after graduation was given my own classroom of 10 3 year olds at the center I had been at for years. I found myself being the 1st one clocked in everyday at 6:45 am(or earlier), well before my scheduled time. I found myself working on my lunch breaks, staying late and bringing work home. I lived, breathed, ate and slept my job.

After a few months I began to resent other teachers, ones I had known for years. I was dedicating my life to changing these kids lives and almost everyone around me was clocking in late and leaving early. Projects were left undone, kids were not getting the attention and help needed, I found myself going the extra mile for kids and parents not in my class.

I started to burn out.

Then I began to resent my director. For not saying or doing anything about their lack of productivity. For not recognizing my efforts and appreciating me. I was taken for granted. She knew my value (admitted I had outgrown the center and didn’t know how to challenge me and was terrified of losing me. She said without me, they would fall apart), but she assumed I’d never leave so neglected my needs. I was appreciated by my class and their parents, but I was not getting the support I needed by the school.

I began to feel like I needed to do something more with my life but I had walls created in my head telling me I had to keep my job because I needed to work to pay the bills.

I was at a loss.

I didn’t know what to do.

I loved my class and didn’t want to leave them but I was upset with things I couldn’t control, and they negatively affected my class which made me more upset. I searched for answers. Applied and was accepted to grad school. But that wasn’t the answer.

For the last 4 months of my job, I had been running an online business on the side. I was hustling eBay. I loved it. I was basically not sleeping to fit in both teaching and my business. It exploded quickly. I realized the more I put in, the more I got out. I was in control of the money I made and the amount of effort I put it. This began to push me to question everything even more. I began analyzing everything.

I looked at what the problem was and identified some things. I was not made to work for someone else. I needed endless opportunity to grow. I needed to be in control of my schedule. I needed to be in control of how much I got out of what I did. I needed to be in control of my future. I needed a challenge.

I was not made to work for someone. I was not made for 9–5.

So I quit.

No plan.

I promised myself I’d never work for someone else again. I packed my bags and moved 1500 miles with the goal of figuring it out.

So here I am. A business owner. And entrepreneur. I work 7 days a week. I have a business partner but no boss. I am in control over my success. I am in control over my future. I am in control of my schedule.

I have no limits.

I have freedom.

I know I will reach great levels of success.

How do I know this? Because I love teaching. I love kids. I have a natural ability with them. They give me purpose and meaning. But I’m not made to work for someone else. So here I am grinding away so I can combine all my passions into one and follow my dreams. Owning a business/being an entrepreneur, writing, helping others and working with kids. Some people laugh at me when I tell them what I’m doing. When I tell them how much I work, how focused I am on my goals and how I refuse to let anything stop me.

I’m an entrepreneur, I control my destiny. I wouldn’t want it any other way. I thank my previous school and everyone I worked with there, for helping me realize I’m not made to work for someone. I also thank them for helping me realize that I can do so much more with my life than I was previously mislead to believe. So to everyone who compelled me to quit my job and take a risk, thank you.

--

--

Elizabeth
You Are Who You Are

Co-Founder of Progress Parenting. Entrepreneur. Introvert. Business Owner. Writer. INTJ. www.progressparenting.com