How language is like a wild goose chase, no wonder we are at each other’s throats

The Soul Salon
4 min readMay 17, 2023

In this morning’s devotional time, I was shown the verse Joshua 1:9

“Have I not commanded you? Be strong and courageous. Do not be afraid; do not be discouraged, for the Lord your God will be with you wherever you go”.

That word “commanded” made me feel small and defenseless…like a child being forced against their will.

I immediately recognized that I must not know the true meaning being that word because those feelings are not of God. Stong’s Concordia, here I come. I found the word command comes the Hebrew word tsâvâh

צָוָה tsâvâh, tsaw-vaw’; a primitive root; (intensively) to constitute, enjoin: — appoint, (for-) bid, (give a) charge, (give a, give in, send with) command(-er, -ment), send a messenger, put, (set) in order

After looking up the meanings of intensively, constitute, bid, and charge, the word command (in this context) actually means (to me, I am no scholar, just an inquisitive mind):

to completely empower you to do what I have instructed you to do.

I believe what this verse is saying is God has prepared Joshua for what He needs him to do but Joshua is scared. God is a little frustrated because He has given Joshua the tools to do the job but…

--

--

The Soul Salon

Using my personal journey of self discovery and enjoying my human experience to inspire you to do the same