I Wasn’t a Famous Writer Because I Was a Bad Writer.

My cringey teenage posts & poems.

Lisa Martens
“You seem fine.”

--

Photo by Marc Schaefer on Unsplash

So…I found a lot of my old writing. Journals and all that…from when I was 14, 15, 16.

It’s no secret that I loved to write even back then. I remember writing poems when I was as young as 10. And I always dreamed of being able to make a living writing and traveling the world, and I was always kind of miffed that this never seemed to happen.

Well, I know why it didn’t happen.

Phew, was I a bad writer.

It’s nice to laugh now, but honestly, it’s so refreshing to realize I actually have improved. It can be hard to see the progress we have made and the work we have done, and honestly, some of the same themes are there. Feminism. Sexism. A general disappointment in the world at large.

But here are some things I was bitching about:

  • Skipping school because my teacher was just playing Pirates of the Caribbean and thinking it was a waste of time. Pshh…that’s an education? I think present-day me would appreciate that this teacher is trying to show story structure by using a popular movie, but heaven forbid I acknowledge that this is just as valid as forcing us all to read classics.
  • That life is too easy for suburban kids, and how good

--

--

Lisa Martens
“You seem fine.”

A remote working Latina. Storytelling is a calling. Read, support, and more here: https://linktr.ee/lisathewriter