5 Things at the U of A that I’m Thankful For (Now That I’m Close to Graduation)

By Sandy

YouAlberta
YouAlberta
4 min readMay 21, 2020

--

[Editor’s Note: This article was written prior to COVID-19 being declared a pandemic, and prior to the closure of university facilities and transition to online classes.]

After spending the last seven years learning and growing at the University of Alberta, I’ve come to finally appreciate the small things in the life of a student. I’ve had some time this semester to reflect on my entire experience and think about: what are some things that added the icing-on-the-cake to my student experience? If I had a chance to do university again, what would I do differently?

1. The gym

While I admit that I entered this domain of campus much later than my gym-obsessed friends, I certainly believe it’s an essential component of student life. Especially, in the span of the past five years, the university has invested significantly into the recreational facilities. The Wilson Climbing Centre has been a unique addition to the Physical Activities and Wellness Centre (PAW). I find that at times when I lose interest in running on the treadmill or routinely going from each workout machine, I lean towards something more fun like rock climbing. As a beginner climber, I had the opportunity to take a class at the Wilson Climbing Centre last summer. The experience is something that I’ve never looked back on.

2. Studying in a new space

In my first three years of my degree, I opted to study at the larger libraries on campus including Cameron Library and Rutherford Library. While the spaces were easy to access and close to food venues, I was still looking for a less crowded space. One of the best decisions I made was spending a weekend walking around campus and getting lost on the higher floors of some buildings. For example, casually strolling in the Law building led me to discover the Law Library as well as many individual seminar rooms available for group studying. Even during my seventh year on campus, I just discovered the second floor of the Business Library that had aesthetically-pleasing group work spaces. Don’t be afraid to wander the hallways of unfamiliar buildings, you never know if your next favorite study spot is just around the corner.

3. Interdisciplinary Projects

There is a big emphasis placed on interdisciplinary collaboration these days. Whether it’s working on a student group with members from a different faculty or even attending a conference with students who you may never have brushed shoulders with otherwise, interdisciplinary projects bring a refreshing perspective to teamwork. For example, in the early years of my degree, I stayed confined within my own degree having very close-knit relationships to those within my faculty. But when it came to connecting with non-STEM students, I noticed a distinct barrier. Specifically, I noticed how different our thinking patterns were. In the last few years, I’ve strived to push outside of these comfort zones and work with students from all faculties and backgrounds. Not only has it opened my worldview but also helped me build strong friendships all across campus.

4. Participating in study abroad

One of the most rewarding experiences I’ve had in my entire seven years at the University of Alberta is going on an exchange program. Last summer, I had the chance to spend one month in a global health course in the heart of Shanghai, China. At the University of Fudan, I ventured beyond just the classroom teachings and had an opportunity to tour the health care system abroad. We visited a metropolitan hospital and spent our time moving through different patient wards, which was more memorable than any course I had ever taken. Living abroad also helped me embrace cultural differences as well as make friends with local students.

5.Leading a student group

The wide spectrum of student groups on campus gives opportunities for every student to find their own habitat. For me, I was passionate about both event planning and consulting which led me to participate in the largest student-run consulting group on campus. With the Interdisciplinary Consulting Association, I was able to exercise my leadership skills and coordinate team efforts to deliver campus wide events. While leading a student group is not the same as the professional world, it still gives us a small glimpse of what real organizational issues are like.

--

--