A Student’s Reflections on Michael Houghton’s 2020 Nobel Prize in Physiology or Medicine

By Sandy

YouAlberta
YouAlberta
4 min readDec 1, 2020

--

Photo Credit: Michael Holly
Description: Dr. Michael Houghton in his lab at Li Ka Shing Institute of Virology
Copyright: ©University of Alberta

We all know the Nobel Prize is a big deal. The award is distributed yearly to influences made in various disciplines that have pushed the boundaries of knowledge and growth. It’s an honour quite unlike any other, and knowing that University of Alberta’s very own Dr. Michael Houghton has been crowned one of this year’s Nobel Prize winners has been humbling. It has also sparked many conversations with my peers from overseas universities, who send their praise and admiration for this incredible accomplishment.

Michael Houghton dedicated his life to studying the Hepatitis C virus. Since discovering the virus in 1989, various tests have emerged to detect the virus in blood samples. Previous to its discovery, blood supplies were prevalent with the virus and created downstream effects in recipients of blood transfusion. This year, three outstanding scientists were recognized by the Nobel Foundation for their individual contribution to this discovery that has prevented tens of thousands of new infections in Hepatitis C. Moreover, Michael Houghton’s team has developed its own blood tests that can detect the virus and thus prevent downstream effects on blood transfusion recipients. In collaboration with others at his academic lab at the Li Ka Shing Institute of Virology, a Hepatitis C vaccine has also been developed.

Having interned in a virology research group only one building away from Dr. Michael Houghton’s office on the seventh floor of the Li Ka Shing Centre for Health Research Innovation, I have a first-hand understanding of the passion and commitment needed to excel in academic research. On the sixth floor of the Katz Building, I spent one summer studying the capacity of a certain virus to target bladder cancer cells. While working in a virology lab I was exposed to the rigorous methodologies and procedures required to conduct scientific research at the micro and nanoscopic levels. I started my day inspecting the results I received from the fluorescence testing the day before, then pondered over how I could conduct my experiments differently that day. There were days when I felt deeply emotional about why my experiment did not produce the desired results, and there were other days when I felt a rush of energy in making small steps towards increasing our medical knowledge. Day in day out, these scientists poured their energy and time into their projects. Regardless of whether each attempt was successful, there would always be something to learn.

Presenting my research at the annual Festival of Undergraduate Research (FURCA) which is hosted by the URI each year.

Every week, I would participate in early morning meetings where each researcher would present their findings to the team for feedback. I have sat through the excitement of successful trials moving forward into academic publication, as well as the frustrations of process-perfect trials without the expected outcome. To say the least, research is a challenging and dynamic field that has continuously driven our scientific knowledge and progress. Without the dedication to truth-seeking by biomedical scientists around the world, there would be many more diseases left uncured and more doubt in the minds of front-line workers as to the best practice in patient care. Being a pharmacy student, I can attest to the impressive progress of medical advancements and treatments available today. Every day new studies and trials are published that constantly shape my own practice and care of patients. I admit that it is sometimes challenging to keep up with the pace of this progress. As a student deeply fascinated by understanding the way things work, learning is not an option but a necessity.

So what does this all mean to a University of Alberta student?

Firstly, it certainly adds an additional layer of prestige to the university. Secondly, this is University of Alberta’s very first Nobel Prize in Physiology or Medicine, which continues to attest to the strength of its medical research community.

Learning about sterile laboratory techniques within the Faculty of Pharmacy & Pharmaceutical Sciences. Photo c. 2018.

Having worked with a number of talented researchers at the university over the years, I feel honoured and privileged to have been involved with research early in my undergraduate degree. For many younger students, research can seem daunting at first. When I think back to my first year of university, I did not know where to start or who to approach — should I just ask any professor who taught me an introductory course, or should I approach a graduate student with a project I was passionate about? I found these questions difficult to answer at first, until I discovered the Undergraduate Research Initiative (URI). I found their team of passionate staff an excellent resource and introduction to the world of research. I was able to find projects and receive summer studentship funding to grow my research skills. Even during the pandemic, there are research opportunities that exist. Whether your major is in the sciences or arts, there’s something for everyone. While research may not be a career for everyone, certainly the way in which it has challenged my thinking and problem solving will be valuable throughout my professional journey.

All students are invited to watch a conversation with Nobel Laureate Michael Houghton on December 9, 2020 at 7 pm. Please register for the event.

--

--