Finding My Place Through the Psychology Honors Program

By Nicol

YouAlberta
YouAlberta
6 min readNov 30, 2020

--

There is something very frightening about being a first-generation university student. I often doubt myself. I wonder if this is where I belong, and I am terrified of failure. It took some time to adjust, place fears and doubts behind me, and believe that I am capable of fitting into a world I used to find so distant from my being. Fortunately, certain things along the way have helped reinforce my feelings of belonging, the honors program being one of them.

I found out about the program through a presentation in 2018, when a student in the program described her experience. I remember being fascinated by the fact she conducted her own research and the processes behind it. I went back home and immediately began looking into the requirements, and soon found a list of potential research supervisors I’d like to work with. I distinctly recall writing my very first email to my now-supervisor, asking her if we could meet to chat and ask her if she’d be willing to take me on as an honors student.

[Editor’s note: While an Honors Psychology degree requires undergraduates to find a supervisor first, this is not typical of all honours programs and this part of Nicol’s experience may be different from most.]

The day came, and I made sure to arrive at the biological sciences building 30 minutes before our meeting so I could have ample time to find her office and not get lost (I still got lost). I came ready with notes and sweaty hands. Nervous, I presented my research ideas regarding identity formation and spoken languages, to which she responded positively. Though I also had other interests in mind, languages and the individual differences that may arise within speakers had always sparked an interest within me; I continuously juggle my native language, Spanish, my second language, French, and my third, English. The whole meeting took about 10 minutes but felt much longer to me. I walked out of bio-sci, not yet understanding what I was fully embarking on, but eager to know my ideas were appreciated and met with enthusiasm.

Since then, I’ve created and helped create three research studies that explore topics such as language, identity, and loneliness. My individual project focuses on language attitudes and perceptions, and my goal is to understand adolescents’ linguistic identity and how it may affect their willingness to communicate. My group project looked into intergenerational differences in loneliness between Gen X and Gen Z. The program has introduced me to aspects of university and academia that I thought were unattainable for me. Prior to my introduction to the program, research seemed like a far-fetched concept that would be difficult for me to engage in. I didn’t quite understand how everything worked, and for my first two and a half years of university, I felt as though I was floating through this part of my life. Joining the honors program gave me a sense of community and support. It has allowed me to meet highly motivated people that inspire me through their rigorous work ethic and academic dedication.

This was the poster I made for my honors group study on loneliness. We are currently in the process of editing it with the goal of submitting to journals.

The program allows for minor setbacks and for time to re-analyze things. This sense of flexibility, of learning through mishaps, is something I had yet to feel in university before joining the program. It has taught me to be self-disciplined and has reshaped my identity as I now believe in myself more than I did before. I look back at the person I was in 2018 and I can gladly say I’ve come a long way. I feel far more confident and connected to my work, and that in itself brings me a sense of fulfillment I longed for. I doubt myself less when looking out for opportunities, such as my current job with the association for the promotion and defense of research in French, and volunteer positions such as peer-reviewing at Invoke. I can explore and pursue my passions independently, with enormous support from peers and faculty along the way.

(Left) Knowing even students get lost in the maze-like biological sciences building, I made a “map” and sent it to my participants to help them find our lab when I conducted my first study. (Right) And 12 steps later… the lab!

Why did I choose the honors program?

I found out through reading and conversations that pursuing graduate studies would include some sort of research experience. Though a research certificate and individual research classes are an option, I ultimately chose the honors program due to the fact that it pushed me outside of my comfort zone and it was also a way for me to be in constant contact and collaboration with others working towards similar goals through the honors weekly seminars.

What exactly is the honors program?

The honors program is completed in the last two years of undergrad. The main component of the program is research: your final project consists of an undergraduate thesis that you work on continuously throughout the two years in collaboration with your supervisor who will guide you along the way. My first year in the program consisted of literature reviews and understanding psychological designs and analyses that could best fit my study. I was fortunate enough to be able to conduct an in-person study in March of this year, right before the university shut down due to the pandemic.

Now, in my second and final year in the program, I am working towards a second part to my initial study, which will be conducted online. This is done in addition to regular full-time courseload, but fear not, it is an enjoyable process and you inevitably learn to be good at time management. It’s possible that the most important skill I’ve acquired through the program is applicable to all aspects of my life. Also, at the end of your third and fourth year, you have the opportunity to present your research at the Royce-Harder Conference, which looks awesome on your CV for grad applications.

My literature review yielded interesting finds, including this article from 1979. I had no idea how to read it, but thanks to the librarians at Cameron Library, I now know what microfilm readers are and how to use them.

How does it work? A Step-by-Step Guide to What I Did

1. Have a look at the research labs we have at the U of A

From animal cognition to gesture and language, the university has amazing labs where you could pursue your unique interests. Visit the websites of the labs that may interest you and start thinking about what you’d like to research.

2. Contact the lab’s principal investigators

Once you’ve set your mind on some labs, contact their principal investigators to know if they are taking in honors students. Meet with them and remember that every lab functions differently and honors’ projects may differ depending on your supervisor. Don’t be afraid: ask questions and explore your options. Once you’ve made your choice, confirm with your potential supervisor that they are willing to work with you.

3. Apply!

Once you’ve confirmed with your supervisor and you have an idea of the topic you’ll explore, apply! A great two years filled with learning experiences and interactions awaits you.

About Nicol

Nicol is a fourth-year Honors Psychology student, originally from La Peña, Colombia. She is a GLAD lab member, a S.K.Y Club volunteer with EMCN, a mentor with BGCBigs Edmonton, and a communications assistant at Acfas-Alberta. Her research interests include developmental and cognitive psychology, being especially fascinated by language.

--

--