How Someone Who Likes Finals Preps for Them

By Sam

YouAlberta
YouAlberta
5 min readDec 5, 2018

--

Last year I wrote an article about why I like final exams. Since then I have taken six more finals and I’m delighted to say that my relationship with them has never been stronger. However, like any good relationship, it requires work and sacrifice, but when you have a good thing going — it’s worth fighting for.

While I am legitimately excited for finals next week, it’s important to note that I don’t like finals for the high-stakes alone. I like them because they offer an opportunity to boost grades or maintain a high level. Of course, doing well on a final requires a lot of preparation. In my previous article, I mentioned how I view exams as a performance. Most good performers will love the act of performing itself, but that love is backed up by rigorous preparation. A great singer wouldn’t show up to a concert without several rehearsals and a warmup behind them. Preparation is critical to doing well. Without it, any performance will go from fun to nightmarish.

So, without any further ado, here is how I, as someone who likes finals, prepares for them:

Study Days

Depending on what your finals season looks like you might have 1 day to study for a given exam or 14. Whatever my timeline is, I have a general studying structure that I follow, which can be adapted to fit any schedule.

I start studying for a final by first reviewing all of the course material (readings, notes, etc.). This lets me get a sense of everything that will be tested, and most importantly, I can focus on what I don’t know. By focusing on the material that I find challenging first, I eliminate the hardest and most stressful part of studying right away. If you leave the most challenging content to the last minute, you will not only be less motivated to work through it, but you’ll also be needlessly stressing yourself out.

It’s crucial to cut unnecessary stresses and prioritize your mental health during the studying process. Finals season shouldn’t be something you barely survive. It will be tough, for sure, but it doesn’t need to drive you to the brink of insanity. After tackling the most challenging material, I break up the material into units which I can then study in-depth. Everyone studies a little bit differently, but I recommend organizing your study time in advance as much as possible so that you know exactly what you’re supposed to do. And as always, make sure you’re taking breaks.

The Night Before

Okay, so I don’t relax quite as much as George in this gif, but I do make sure to take it easy the night before a final. This is for two reasons; 1) so that I’m well rested ahead of the exam, and 2) to get myself into a good mental state.

I always study the night before an exam, but at this point, I only need to do a casual review. This casual review isn’t terribly necessary but it gives me the peace of mind I need to rest well and feel confident ahead of the exam.

The night before an exam isn’t just for a final review though, it’s also time for de-stressing. Whether it’s taking a bath or watching TV, I make sure to do something purely for enjoyment the night before an exam. Since I know I’m prepared, I shift my focus toward getting myself relaxed and ready for the ‘performance’. Finally, I always go to bed early before a final to maximize my sleep quality (crucial for optimal performance) and buffer against any pre-test jitters that might keep me up.

Exam Day

After getting up I go through my normal morning routine, making sure that I have plenty of time to do so. I always eat a generous breakfast on exam days and make a point of doing absolutely zero studying before a morning test. If I feel confident in my preparation then an extra half hour won’t make a difference. If anything, it will leave me more stressed out as I frantically try to burn through my notes.

I always arrive at exams 15–20 minutes early to use the bathroom and nail down a good spot. On my way to the exam, I have one specific ritual that I like to do. Very few know about this ritual but since you, my dear reader, have made it this far I will share it with you. Before a final I will listen to one of two songs; either The Imperial March or March of the Resistance, both Star Wars classics by John Williams. Whatever you need to do to get into a confident, focused head space, do it. I realize how crazy this sounds, but do whatever you need to do to get into a confident, focused head space.

I come to exams comically over-prepared. If I’m allowed a calculator I’ll bring two. If I have to write in pencil I’ll bring ten pre-sharpened and a sharpener. If I’m allowed a cheat sheet I’ll pack it to the edges in size 4 font on both sides.

All of this is over-preparation. I’ve never needed my backup calculator or all ten of my pencils, but I’ve also never had to worry about needing them. Any unnecessary stress that you can cut out will help you focus on what really matters; doing your best on the final itself.

Embrace the Grind

I like finals and I tend to do well on them because of my preparation and attitude. However, even if I didn’t do well on exams, I think that learning to like them, or at least not to fear them is immensely valuable. It’s so easy to stress about exams and spend your time, energy and happiness worrying. I still stress about finals sometimes and find myself weary of the studying grind, but overall, finals season isn’t something I dread. It’s something I embrace. Because for every test I write, I get a little bit closer to what I want: a good mark, a degree in the field that I love, and of course, the start of the holiday break.

I would wish you luck, but you don’t need it. Prepare diligently, take care of yourself, and try to have some fun out there. Here’s to a more tolerable (and maybe even enjoyable) finals season!

--

--