Real Solutions, Real World Experience

YouAlberta
YouAlberta
Published in
7 min readFeb 5, 2020

By Maryam

This post was updated on March 16, 2021.

Many of us tend to make excuses to remain in our comfort zone while considering the challenges of trying new things, and I was no exception. However, I know that only through embracing new challenges can one continue to learn and grow as an individual. So, when my research led me to find out about the Sustainability Scholars program, my adventurous soul was an asset! At first I wasn’t sure if I should apply. As an individual who first learned English at the age of 25, I was concerned with my ability to properly prepare my application, successfully go through the interview process, meet the expectations of working in a professional setting, complete the ambitious project within the tight timeline, and present the final results of my research. Prior to the start of the program, I was preparing to attend a conference in Europe followed by a trip to my home country of Iran, all while I was in the process of completing my final Ph.D. research paper that had to be submitted before my leave. I was also aware that I would be required to defend my Ph.D. around the same time as my final internship presentation. Despite some of my doubts, I applied to the program as I knew this was an opportunity that I should embrace fully.

And I’m so glad I did! Through Sustainability Scholars I had many life experiences that were a first for me: a first successful job interview, first work experience, and a first official research project for a municipal government. The day that I received the email inviting me to an interview, I was very excited, full of great ideas, and passionate about being able to finally apply my knowledge and research to resolve a real-world challenge. I thought to myself, “What could be better than trying to help make my first Canadian home, Edmonton, achieve their green initiatives and goals?” Another benefit of the internship was that, as an international student, I was introduced to what a Canadian work environment is like. This internship was my first opportunity to experience employment outside of the academic sector.

My Sustainability Scholars internship project was to help the City of Edmonton (COE) determine which strategies would be feasible for them to implement in order to achieve carbon neutrality and go “green” by 2050. Going green requires all consumed natural gas and fossil fuel-based electricity to be replaced with clean and renewable sources. During my Ph.D. studies, I had conducted a comprehensive life cycle analysis of various renewable energy systems. I was able to use this knowledge and experience to research, analyze, and calculate the greenhouse gas emissions currently produced by COE-owned facility assets and cost out the various clean energy production pathways including hydro, geothermal, wind, solar, biomass and biocoal. I was then able to provide the COE with various options based on the information gathered to help them develop a strategy to achieve their 2050 goals. The COE’s Facility Asset Management group gave me an opportunity to provide them with a thorough sustainable research project to address the challenges associated with their existing facility assets and include information about my personal interests and research.

I had already researched biomass extensively during my Ph.D., and I discovered that biomass can be converted into a clean replacement for coal (biocoal) at a competitive price when compared to conventional coal. Having access to data from the COE’s waste management facilities, renowned around the world for its innovative approach and unique processing techniques, allowed me to further develop a strategy that the COE could consider as a solution and as a potential financial capital investment. The internship, aligned with my research background, personal interests, and goals, provided me with the perfect opportunity to apply my knowledge in a practical setting that would propose multiple options and beneficial information to the COE. Furthermore, the internship gave me hands-on experience to increase my knowledge of various concepts/theories and exposed me to the realities and challenges of the practical application of my research. Now for my postdoc, I am building on this work by researching the production of clean natural gas from biomass.

My interview was conducted by Robert Langevine (General manager/Supervisor) and François Cousineau (Project Manager) of the Integrated Infrastructure Services’ Facility Asset Management group at the COE. During the interview, I expected to be asked only scientific questions related to the project. However, there were questions about my personal traits which I was not prepared for. Robert asked about my leadership style, and François asked me to think about, “If given the opportunity to be anything else other than a human being on this planet, what would I be and why?” Some questions caught me off-guard and I became worried about the success of this interview. However, both Robert and François were so friendly, welcoming, and funny that I soon felt like that I was meeting two long-time friends. I answered the questions honestly by explaining what I think and who I truly am. I was just myself the entire duration of the interview. Turned out they liked my answers and I was offered the job. My two supervisors have very unique leadership styles that I enjoyed being exposed to and have helped me develop my own style. I am currently putting into practice their skills, qualities, and methods while supervising graduate students in my postdoc. I believe I had the best supervisors that I could have seen in my first real-world work experience.

During my internship, I was also practicing my time management skills by working on multiple deliverables like the COE project, completing my Ph.D. work, and preparing for my defense. François kindly offered me a really flexible work schedule which made managing the various tasks much easier. Throughout the entire project, he was there to support my work, see me succeed, and ensure I had the best experience possible during this internship. Our discussions about the project were always enriching and eye-opening. He was a caring, engaged, knowledgeable and open-minded leader. By the end of it all, Robert and François supported me by attending my Ph.D. defense. I will always be thankful for the support, understanding, and trust they gave me.

This internship as a Sustainability Scholar has given me valuable life-changing insight and experiences that I will keep with me for the rest of my professional career. Before this internship, I was sure that I wanted to be a professor and continue in the academic world. Now, I can see myself potentially pursuing another type of career that I believe I can be an asset in and would find both interesting and rewarding. The internship was an amazing experience that I am fortunate to have had since I learned so many different things. We are now working on a paper from our results to publish in a peer-reviewed journal. Although I still love the research of theoretical science and knowledge, I now value the importance of the practical application and experience of my knowledge. However, my most valued aspect of this internship was the relationship I was able to develop with individuals I would consider not only supportive mentors but friends who I can rely on in different aspects of my academic and professional career moving forward. Could I have had a better outcome out of a four-month internship?!

Francois and Maryam

I would encourage all graduate students, especially those who want to gain some real world experience, to use this valuable opportunity and at least take a look to see whether any of the projects are related to their research. I would like to thank the University of Alberta Sustainability Council for their hard work to provide such a valuable opportunity every year to more and more students.

Sustainability Scholars sponsors University of Alberta graduate students to work on applied research projects with Edmonton-area institutions. Over the summer months, successful applicants work with professional mentors, earn up to $6,000, and complete 250 hours of project work. Interested students can apply by March 21, 2021.

Maryam Akbari is a Postdoctoral Research fellow in the Department of Mechanical Engineering, Faculty of Engineering. She has completed her PhD recently in the same department, during which she was selected to be a Sustainability Scholar at City of Edmonton. She is passionate about the ways she can make changes towards a greener environment and she has participated in sustainability activities. She is proud to be part of a community offering many initiatives for a greener environment.

--

--