Winter, Spring, Summer, Fall, COFFEE!

By Niabi

YouAlberta
YouAlberta
3 min readOct 12, 2017

--

For people with spring allergies, fall-time can literally be a breath of fresh air. With fall comes bright leaves, rainy days, more layers of clothing, perfect Netflix weather (yas!), Halloween, but most importantly, MORE COFFEE.

At the beginning of the summer, I started a new job on campus and as a result I have become intimately familiar with the various coffee shops on and around the University of Alberta. While I have done (what I like to call) an admirable job of saving money by bringing my own coffee to work, there have been multiple instances where I have caved and pursued a Second Cup of the day…see what I did there? So, here is a list (and brief review) of some of the coffee shops that I have either been to firsthand or heard of through my friends. I suggest that you refer to this list the next time you are starting to FALL asleep in class.

Café Mosaics

Location: 10844 82 Ave NW

This cafe garnishes their drinks with dried flowers, I repeat, DRIED FLOWERS. If that doesn’t brighten your day, I don’t know what will. The location combines fancy, cozy, and homey all into one. The food menu at this restaurant is also killer.

Good Earth

Location: 8623 112 St NW

What I love about Good Earth is that it’s a great coffee destination if you feel like stretching your legs for a few minutes. It’s the perfect walking distance from campus without actually being on campus, and has a cozy atmosphere and lots of windows for natural lighting. While I wouldn’t recommend it for studying (it can get pretty busy), it’s the perfect place for a date or study break with a few friends, mainly because they also serve food and the seating space is so comfortable. Oh yeah, the coffee is great too.

Block 1912

Location:10361 82 Ave NW

If you want to feel fancy minus the fancy bill, Block 1912 is your place to go. The lighting combined with the brick walls and relaxed atmosphere is what makes this place one of my favorites. I am someone who is always cold, so I notice things like temperature. Let me tell you, the temperature in Block 1912 is perfect. Not so warm that you fall asleep, but not so cold that you need a sweater. They also have a gorgeous selection of desserts and pastries to have with your coffee.

Remedy Cafe

Location: 8631 109 St NW

Remedy is what I call the ideal coffee shop for university students. Why? Because they are open until midnight EVERY SINGLE DAY OF THE WEEK. Yes, you read that right. They also offer a huge variety of drinks and pastries. And did I mention that you get your money’s worth? The mugs they use are almost big enough to bathe in.

The Daily Grind/Under Grind

Location: Student’s Union Building, 8900 114 St NW (The Daily Grind: Main floor, Under Grind: Basement floor)

I’ve talked about this coffee shop before in my post about Living with Food Allergies on Campus. The Daily Grind is such a great option for people with gluten and dairy allergies as they have dairy and gluten free options for their both their drinks and the food they serve. Their warm drinks are also delicious, the vanilla latte being my favourite.

Cookies by George

Location: HUB Mall 209–9005 112 St NW

10/10 would recommend the soy London Fog from this place. I have definitely consumed over 100 of these this year. They also have a stamp card system where after 12 cookies and 8 drinks, you can get one of each for free! Plus who can resist a warm, chewy cookie? Not me.

So, if you find yourself in line at one of these places within the week, I have succeeded in my duties as a student blogger. If you don’t, that just means more coffee for me, so I guess it’s a win/win. Happy caffeination!

--

--