Emotional Eating

Esther Mehesz
youateapp
5 min readNov 27, 2018

--

Are you an emotional eater? Maybe you are but you just don’t know?

Taking a step back and reflecting on my past experiences may help you realize

1. It’s okay to have emotions

2. Millions of people struggle with emotional eating

3. You are not alone

If things feel off and you see yourself turning to food more often than not, there are ways to combat your emotional eating struggles.

Who is an emotional eater?

I’ve never thought of myself as an emotional eater. I’ve always had a sweet tooth and never thought too much about it. However, with many changes over the years, some which have stood out more than others, it made me take a step back and realize how my emotions have played a part in my eating habits.

Whether you think you are an emotional eater or not,

1. pause when you eat

2. reflect on what you are feeling at that moment, and

3. notice how if affects your food choices.

Stress

Sometimes I may not think I’m stressed but when I have a million and one things going on, that usually comes with stress. Although I have learned from the past how to prioritize, sometimes you just can’t stop the stress. It comes by itself. I’ve learned how to deal with it physically by exercising but sometimes that simply isn’t enough. When that happens, I just find myself eating more when I’m stressed.

I could easily say try to cut back on what you’re eating but that’s not always realistic. Rather being aware of what and when I’m eating certain foods has helped me deal with the eating that comes on when I am stressed.

By being able to realize when I’m stressed and the foods I turn to — usually a dessert of some sort: cakes, cupcakes, brownies, you name it, I’m downing it. However, learning that I don’t feel the best when I eat these foods has also taught me that I am more content eating more healthful alternatives. Yes, I may still turn to a dessert but I make a more mindful decision and choose something that won’t have an even worse effect.

My go-to options when I’m stressed?

  • Individual wrapped European chocolate. When they are single wrapped it takes time to open and I eat them slower. Why European? Something about picking up a chocolate that is not easily accessible also makes you savor the flavor and eat it slower. I’m more satisfied with this than picking up easily accessible chocolate at any convenience store. Hint: Look through Marshall’s and their Home Goods section — always filled with unique chocolates no matter where you are in the U.S!
  • Cheese. If I need something salty, then cheese is my go-to. Nothing too fancy. My options range from cheese by itself, toast with cheese, a salad with cheese, an omelette with cheese, the options are endless. But why cheese? Believe it or not, cheese has an amino acid called Tyrosine which helps to improve alertness, attention and focus. Although I’m not saying go eat an entire cheese pizza, some amount of cheese can actually help with your stress as it helps me!

Happiness

The feeling of happiness can come in all shapes and sizes. Are you happy because of a new relationship? Happy because you got a raise? Happy because you finished all your errands? The list is never ending!

How does happiness tie into emotional eating? It’s an emotion where you find yourself celebrating. Unfortunately many celebrations revolve around food and feasting. Rather than always making a reservation to your favorite restaurant when something good comes about, find another activity! Don’t turn to food as your reward. Rather buy that new pair of earrings or go for a hike with some friends to celebrate!

My go-to options when I’m happy & relaxed?

  • Retail therapy. Not always the most cost effective but if it involves being happy for a certain achievement, then taking the time to focus on myself and look for something new to commemorate the moment has been a more meaningful experience than a simple dinner out.
  • Spending time with friends. Simply going out and planning a day with the girls whether that be getting our nails done, grabbing coffee, going for a hike, the options are endless.

Benefits of being happy & relaxed:

As I have less cravings with these feelings I stick to my normal meals. When we are able to be relaxed, we have the ability to better digest, absorb and utilize the food and nutrients we eat

When you are happy — you smile more, you’re polite, you forgive easier, you show random acts of kindness, you compliment others.

These positive things that come from within you when you are happy can help brighten someone else’s day — so surround yourself with others when you are happy and not around food.

Nervousness

Nervousness deals with some sort of form of anxiety. When eating during this time you are trying to take your mind off of the event that is causing you the anxiety or the nerves.

The feelings of nervous and anxious take a toll on your energy and may make you feel like you are more hungry than you truly are. At this time it may not even be cravings that you experience but rather just taking seconds of meals when you would normally be content with a single serving.

My go-to options when I’m nervous?

  • Drinking more water & passing time. Before I stand up to make another meal or grab another serving, I drink more water and actually look at my phone to pass some time. This additional time allows me to see whether or not I just needed a distraction between grabbing more food or if I actually am hungry.
  • Give yourself a mental pep-talk. I’ve always been someone that got nervous before my swim races even up until my college years. It took time mentally to realize that there is no need to be nervous for specific reoccurring events. Realizing that I have done as much preparation as possible going into my race as possible should not make me nervous. I’m as prepared as can be and should show what I can do during my race. This goes into real life. If you know you’ve prepared all you can, take a step back and think: what else could you have done? If nothing — then there is no need to be nervous. Embrace the experience and if it doesn’t go as planned, use it as a learning experience for next time.

What to take from this?

Emotions come and go whether positive or negative. Each one can induce hunger and have you craving for certain foods. It’s okay to acknowledge those cravings and even give into them occasionally. However, it’s important to realize when those emotions and the corresponding hunger cues come about so that you make better decisions and not always turn to food with whatever emotion you are feeling!

*Using YouAte’s mindful food journal has been able to help me understand my emotional eating triggers. What are you doing to address your emotional eating?

--

--

Esther Mehesz
youateapp

Retired college athlete, living and maintaining a healthy lifestyle while still eating dessert, and using the Ate app to stay on track