Going Back Home to St.Margaret’s Street Pt 2..

Daniel Furr
YouCanterbury
Published in
3 min readJul 15, 2018

Alas, this took much longer due to delays and goings on in my life; a break has finally occurred and I can finally piece together my final moments in St.Margaret’s Street. Now, where were we?

Ah, yes. This street, I believe, could be among — if not the — most haunted in Canterbury. A bizarre “ghost district” certainly has many tales, across so many buildings, that it is quite extraordinary. The estate agents, next to Tiny Tim’s, is haunted by a lady in grey who is supposed to appear 5 am, in the window upstairs, on every Friday. Never saw her myself.

The Canterbury Tales, if I remember correctly, is haunted too as well as Superdry. I know there was once a vast graveyard in the area, so I wonder if we’ve disturbed some resting souls?

St.Margaret’s Street is rather popular with the dead, as well as the living it seems.

It would be a crime against my childhood, if I didn’t discuss The Canterbury Tales briefly.This is literally the most visited place for me in Canterbury; lost count how many times we visited at primary school, with family, friends and college. And, oddly enough, I don’t remember a single thing about The Canterbury Tales itself! I know the basic premise, but that’s it! I feel so ashamed. Probably need to go again at some point in the near future. Oh! I do remember a knights tale and a witch, who made herself appear beautiful? Am I right? This is quite bad of me. Been so many times throughout my life and cannot remember the story.

Yet, crudely, I do recall a dummy sticking his bottom out the window during the tour. It was always a highlight for me, even though our teachers would tell us to stop laughing too loudly. Which I never quite understood. When visiting with family, usually with my Nan, we’d pop into Nason’s and I’d have a jam doughnut with a glass of coke. The Canterbury Tales always reminds me of my Nan, before motor neuron disease took control of her. It is not an easy thing to write about, but the disease is not pleasant to watch; just, in a way, a part of who she truly was still exists in that building. Means a lot to me.

The smell of coffee seems to be everywhere on this street; especially around 8am (ish) and the freshly baked and cooked food fills the air. It was one of the many things I use to enjoy working in St.Margaret’s Street. Especially at Christmas time; oh my, it was heaven down there.

It feeds into this duel personality the district has; one that differs between day and night. St.Margaret’s Street does have a fantastic night life and, during my student days, every night was one big party and so much fun.

Work hard, play hard would be a perfect motto; fits into this accidental identity, which has stumbled on to a very successful formula. The district barely sleeps and is busy 24 hours a week. There is never a dull moment, so many things to see and do — especially at night.

You know, sometimes there is so much you want to say but have no idea how to articulate it perfectly. St.Margaret’s Street is another home to me; one that is very dear and is so happy whenever I visit. I know this is very corny, honestly not my intention, but it is the only way I can describe this place.

There is just endless pages of happy memories for me, of a time when life was so simple to understand. It’s a love, which doesn’t die and grows stronger over time. No matter whatever happens, it will always be there.

Whenever you’re next in St.Margaret’s Street, just allow yourself to fall in love with the place. You won’t regret it.

--

--

Daniel Furr
YouCanterbury

Social media content creator from Canterbury, UK. @YouCanterbury on Twitter and Facebook. DanielFurrUK on Pinterest.