Introduction — An Idea…

Daniel Furr
YouCanterbury
Published in
2 min readMay 31, 2018

I have lived in this city all my life. It is my home and I truly love this place; when working for a small business in Canterbury, many years ago, I would read the reviews from critics and tourists coming to this city.

The endless paragraphs and discussions on shops, mannerism of the staff and bemusement of the historical surroundings filled me with emptiness. Something was missing from their words; there was a failure to appreciate and understand the uniqueness of every fabric of our city and why it is so special.

Each building wasn’t just made up of bricks and mortar, but there was a story behind it waiting to be told.

Stretching back to my childhood, I have memories and little tales of the city, the shops and the people who worked in them. I wanted to share each one of them as a means of celebrating our city and her local businesses.

And that’s when YouCanterbury was born.

An idea. An idea of writing a guide to the city from the point of view of a resident, who shares personal stories attributed to locations and why you should visit them.

As I said at the start, I love this city with all my heart; after a series of blog posts, Tweets and pictures I hope you’ll understand why.

-Daniel

--

--

Daniel Furr
YouCanterbury

Social media content creator from Canterbury, UK. @YouCanterbury on Twitter and Facebook. DanielFurrUK on Pinterest.