Personal improvement

Do you want to stop being afraid of fear

And release your passion to share ideas?

Raluca Erimescu
YouMeUs

--

Photo by Alexandra Gorn on Unsplash

When you let fear take over you get stuck

You know you have something to say but you choose not to. You know you have good questions or suggestions that would be helpful to your colleagues, but you choose to keep them to yourself.

You’d like to address a larger group of people, start speaking in public maybe but…. I wonder what their reaction will be?

You’d like to create content and let your ideas be heard, read, absorbed but… will they find it interesting? What if it doesn’t help? What if it’s not meaningful?

I know what it’s like to feel the trembling on the inside at something that takes you out of the ordinary and puts you in the public eye.

Your blood freezes in your veins, you hear your heart pounding in your ears, and for a few seconds you’re immobile.

Then you wake with the feeling you’ve suddenly been woken from sleep and thrown into the whirlwind of the moment.

Photo by Yaroslav Shuraev from Pexels

I was in the US for the first time at a huge conference; I had never seen 5000 people gathered in one place. It was ‘High Performance Academy’ with Brendon Burchard.

And I had a couple of questions.

I started fidgeting in my chair. The questions were playing around in my head but I wasn’t comfortable to release them for public scrutiny. I mean let’s face it, I was among thousands of high performers from all over the world, course creators, business people, athletes, marketers…

What if my questions are childish?

What if my English fails me in the middle of the question?

You know what I’m saying?

Fear has the most protective intentions.

But it is not helpful, unless what you face is a real menace for your survival.

Finally I released the questions to the arena, and not only did I get my answers, I also took a picture with Brendon Burchard. (Wouldn’t the man know that I needed a reward for the courage of my action 😃)

What if?

What if, instead of making a pact with fear, you made a pact with passion to share your ideas? With the desire to become more? With the creativity in you?

Here’s what Elizabeth Gilbert says that I wholeheartedly resonate with:❤️

“Dear Fear:

Creativity and I are getting ready to go on a road trip together. I understand you’ll be joining us, as always. I know you believe you have an important mission in my life and take your work seriously. It seems your job is to create total panic whenever I’m about to do something interesting — let me tell you, you’re very good at what you do. Just know that I’m going to do my own thing on this trip — I’m going to work my ass off and keep my focus. Creativity will also do its job — it will continue to inspire and inspire me. There’s plenty of room in this vehicle for all three, so make yourself comfortable, but remember this: Creativity and I are the only decision makers on this journey. I accept and respect the fact that you are part of this family and that’s why I will never exclude you from our activities — only that we will never follow your suggestions. You can sit and you can speak, but you are not allowed to vote. You’re not allowed to touch maps; you’re not allowed to suggest other routes; you’re not allowed to fiddle with the temperature. Honey, you’re not even allowed to touch the radio. But above all, my dear old friend, you are not allowed to drive under any circumstances.”

You are the driver. Fear is just a passenger, maybe even a passenger passenger!

You’ll get rid of it by repeatedly doing that new action and getting better at it. Don’t let fear stop you!

Want to make your presentations magnetically attractive? Discover how to captivate and engage your public from my free guide: Speak so that people listen.

--

--

Raluca Erimescu
YouMeUs
Writer for

Trainer of public speaking and storytelling, World class speaking coach, playful spirit in love with dance, run, biking and creativity.