HUMOUR

Smiles Will Work Wonders on Your Audience

Why you need to enhance your humorous self-expression

Raluca Erimescu
YouMeUs

--

Sometimes we tend to lose ourselves between tasks, roles and our self-important serious image, which is a great disservice to ourselves. It deprives us of the humorous, rich, juicy life spirit.

Seriousness, for too long, becomes blunt and draining. Disconnecting.

Bring the smiles, the playfulness and the fun in!

When we speak about life in general, or in front of an audience, flashing the smiles and bringing the joy in is the way to go. It’s connecting, it enhances learning and it relaxes people, inviting the good mood in for a more receptive, engaged audience.

Photo by Belinda Fewings on Unsplash.com

Have you ever been in-car race mode, but on foot?

Two years ago, I went to pick up my daughter Adele from her IT for kids classes thinking it was an ordinary day. I arrive there 5 minutes earlier, see some of the other parents, friends of mine, in the hallway and conversing:

“What did you bring for the end of class prize?”

What? Who? Where? When? I didn’t know a thing about an end of class prize… I missed the notification, and my daughter was now facing missing out on an award.

So I turn into the super-mum mode. I unleash my unseen energy reserves and launch into a car race by foot to the nearby store. I return 15 minutes later, with the most treasured toy ever: a cheap, battery-powered disco light projector. A pretty good find in a pinch, right?

But…

When you’re in a rush, stressed out and under time pressure, you don’t see clearly…

On my return, I didn’t see the metallic handle of the transparent glass door to their computer room.

I threw myself at the door as if it was thin air… Bang, boom, bang! I was like Tom the cat when he instantaneously grows a bump and sees tweeting birds circling above his head after hitting a wall.

“What was that? Was it even here, or did they put it on purpose to make me fall for it?”

The kids were all laughing out loud at me. Adele burst into giggling, opened the door and scolded me:

“Mum, you know you can’t move through glass, don’t you?”

“You don’t perceive my superpowers, daughter. Wait and see what I made appear in the last 15 minutes! I said to myself while nodding and coming around…”

Inviting and welcoming humour will make yourself, and your audience feel more at ease. It will have an instant effect on any stress you might be feeling.

“Life is not as serious as the mind makes it out to be.” Eckhart Tolle

Get down from your mind. Move into your body and heart. Open up.

Photo by Giuliamar on Pixabay.com

Develop your sense of humour as a faculty of perception.

How?

Read comics and laugh out loud all by yourself.

Read jokes and turn your energy into a flowing good mood, then make it part of the universal big energy pool, spreading the good vibrations.

Read between the lines when something unexpected, bad but still benign happens to you, and see the funny side that is usually visible for everybody else but you in the preliminary moment.

Until next time take care, smile a lot and spread those smiles!

Want to make captivating presentations and improve your public speaking skills? Practice the tips from my free guide: Speak so that people listen.

If you want to find out more about diving into your creative core and making your content alive and memorable, read this article:

--

--

Raluca Erimescu
YouMeUs
Writer for

Trainer of public speaking and storytelling, World class speaking coach, playful spirit in love with dance, run, biking and creativity.