Nelson after the first rehearsal back in October ‘14

Nelson reflects on his experience singing

Mark Guglielmo
Young@Heart Prison Project
1 min readMar 4, 2015

--

“When I first attended the young at heart rehearsal I thought to myself singing isn’t for me, and I’m not going to make a fool of myself, but the more I showed up, the more I realized that I enjoyed the people, plus the experience in itself is golden, and lord knows I’m glad I stuck with it. Young at heart has shown me how to step out of my comfort zone and not worry how others perceive me. I appreciate the time they spent with us even through all that howling we call singing (L.O.L). Thank you, Nelson”

Here’s a video of Nelson after his first rehearsal back in October at the Hampshire County Jail and House of Correction in Northampton, MA.

--

--