The new Chris steps outside the box

Mark Guglielmo
Young@Heart Prison Project
2 min readMar 17, 2015

--

“Being involved with the Young@Heart Chorus has been a one of a kind experience for me. In order to actually get involved I had to ‘step outside the box’. I had to put my ego aside and, let go totally of the old Chris. When I was first introduced to the Young@Heart I immediately saw the kind of person I want to become. I imagined my kids and, grandkids seeing me the way I would imagine their kids and, grandkids see them. The craziest thing about me being involved is the way the people who know the old Chris have to scratch their heads in bewilderment at the site of me and, the person I have become today. Truth is I have completely changed my life and a lot of the credit belongs to the people who made the experiences I’ve so, fortunately been able to participate in possible. H.C.H.C., Mindy, Kathy, Sheriff Garvey and, most importantly, Bob and the rest of the Young@Heart Chorus. I’m really looking forward to the concert April 2015 at the Academy of Music. This is my chance to experience a part of life that I’ve always been afraid of because of my social anxiety and, just because, I never thought I was a normal person that people could like.”

— Chris, inmate chorus member at Hampshire County Jail and House of Correction

Here’s a video of everyone singing Chris (and Greg) ‘Happy Birthday’ back on February 4, 2015

--

--