Talent: A concept to which I am fascinated!

Pratham Yogendra
Youngsters'Journals
5 min readFeb 13, 2019

Talent is something which is uniquely hidden in every one of us. All you need to do is to find the way to discover your unique talent and harness it for the world to witness.

Hey there, this is Pratham Yogendra here from the Youngsters’ Journals back again with a new article where I’d like to talk about a topic which fascinates me a lot.

Well, from that short intro you already know what I am talking about. So without further ado, let’s get started!

So, Why I am talking about talent all of a sudden?

This is the very first question which might have struck you.

Well, I don’t really know why but a few weeks ago, I was fascinated by the topic talent because it so happened that I came across many People who are unable to acknowledge their talent and are considering other’s talent as theirs.

Now, I don’t wish to target anyone in particular and moreover, You might mock me down by telling me that it’s the mere attitude of If He/She can do it, then why can’t I?

If you wanna do that, you’re welcome to do the same but just imagine, if I would go ask a singer to play Cricket and a Cricket player to sing instead and just apply the very same formula to them. What would’ve happened!

Now the odds are that the Singer maybe a good cricket player and the cricket player might have a good voice. But, the odds of it happening is one in a million timelines.

And yes, the above reference was from the movie “Taare Zameen Par”

Now, I hope it’s clear about how everyone has a unique talent and how the formula “If He/She can do it=I can do it” doesn’t work in all situations.

And also before moving on let me tell you where will the same formula work.

This is something which one of my mentors Sarath Sir always quote. It goes like “If He/She can work hard to achieve their goals, then why can’t you?”

Now, He is completely right because it is not 1970s that we live in and we don’t live in a Society where education is just a choice between Engineering or Medical and it is neither decided by Relatives nor Parents.

It’s you who decides what to do and what stream to choose. It means that if you have chosen a Stream then it’s you who must know the hard work it takes to succeed.

Now, I know I’ve kind of diverted from the topic but I had to clarify this doubt as People would consider this Talent which I am talking about to be Learning.

And moreover, Learning is a universal Talent and Some People are can easily learn something whereas some need time to understand the very same concept clearly.

So what is the talent which I am talking about?

Is it limited to Singing/Dancing/Acting/Poetry or something as such?

Well, it is not! In fact, according to me, talent has no limits or specific definition as such.

It’s just an Art or a Skill which someone is really good at.

For example, You are good at Math and you can easily solve difficult problems, then problem Solving is an art or skill (to be specific) you are good at.

So, Now let me finally tell you why I am fascinated by the topic talent.

It’s just that I couldn’t help but notice that great talent in folks around me and that they are hardly hustling to build a product out of it.

This is an era of talent culture and there is no reason for you to not hustle for your Talent.

And I feel sad because there is an insane amount of talent out there and all of it results to nothing just because one fails to acknowledge his/her Talent.

I believe everyone of us posses that hidden Talent and one day soon, we will acknowledge it and start working on it.

Now, as I said earlier about working on our Talent, how do we work on it?

Ans: There are many ways to work on it. All you need to do is hustle hard and Document it and by Document I mean Blogs, Photographs, Podcasts, Videos, On Stage- Performances, Open Mics and anything which serves as a memory to you and to the people who happen to witness your Talent.

As I stated earlier, if you are good at math then document your math skills for the world to watch. If you can solve a problem then share a detailed video of it with others so that they can understand.

Now, you can’t go down to each and every student and explain him. Instead, you document it and share it with the world to see and you can do it by uploading it on the Internet.

And how much time exactly we are supposed to devote to our talent?

Well, hustling isn’t measured by time. A person can achieve a lot by hustling a little and vice-versa. It all depends on you and your proper time schedule.

And moving on to the last question which you might get is that what are the benefits of having a talent.

There are a lot. for instance,

1. Happiness:- At the end of the day, you will have that inner happiness and satisfaction about doing something Creative.

2. Monetization: If you are good at something then you will surely find a way to monetize it.

3.The connect: If you let the world to witness your talent, the world will give you something in return and that is a very strong Connect between you and your audience which will in-turn open up more opportunities for you.

So, I would now like to conclude by telling you to take it as a challenge to find and harness your true and unique talent for the world to witness.

This is Pratham here from the Youngsters’ Journals signing off. You guys have a great day bye-bye now.

--

--