It was my worst interview, but I still got the job.

Jan Johan
When I think about: Life
4 min readOct 14, 2017

So in the last couple of years of university, I attended these workshops to help improve my interviewing skills. They told us the do’s and don’ts when being interviewed and even showed us a couple of ways to prepare for them beforehand.

It was helpful, and it definitely gave me a better understanding of what to expect in interviews. But in my most recent one, I missed 2 specific things that I was taught to do from the workshops — and now I tell all my friends that it was my worst interview ever.

I started looking around for jobs in my final year of university. I’ve probably been to about 10 different interviews by the time I had my last one. Up until then, no one has ever asked me for an extra copy of my resume (although I always had one ready with me). In this interview, the person interviewing me already had a copy of my resume with him. Things went well, we had good chemistry, and I was shown around the office space.

A couple of days later, they called me back for a second interview. This time with the director and manager of the marketing team. Cool. Awesome. I’m there.

So I get there. Thinking to myself that they already had a copy of my resume and also the fact that it was the second interview, I didn’t bring an extra copy. By the way, the room I was being interviewed in also doubles as a testing room for their products (meaning that there are cameras in the room).

So I finally meet both the director and the manager of the team and the first thing they ask for is … yep…you guessed it.

“Do you have a copy of your resume?”.

***The first thing I was supposed to do but didn’t***

I regretfully replied with a “no”, and they stepped out for a few minutes just to get one printed. If the cameras in the room were on, you could see me sitting all alone slowly dropping my face in my hands in a huge disappointing facepalm to myself.

So we get the interview rolling, and things seem to pick up. The vibe was pretty good and I felt like I was getting along with them. As they were about to wrap up their questions, the director sits back to just look over my resume one more time. The manager asks me her last question and I casually gave my answer. It felt like we were basically done, but then the director leans back in saying:

“Oh, I just have one last question. How should I feel about the typos on this resume?”

***Second thing I was supposed to do but didn’t (proofread)***

I’m constantly updating my resume and I somehow managed to skip proofreading this one before I sent it out. I tried to come up with the most reassuring thing I could. I jokingly / embarrassingly told them that they shouldn’t worry and quickly referred to some other samples of my writing.

We concluded the interview and within the week I got offered the job.

By my first week on the job, the director wanted to have a one on one session to just talk about how I’m adjusting. She told me that at the end of the day they were looking for people who could vibe and get along with them. She told me that people can learn the skills on the way, but it’s important to know if you are first able to work with them. She told me that they really got a good sense of my personality from the interview.

I didn’t realize how important it was for people to get to know you outside of your resume. I mean, of course its important to have an appealing resume, but sometimes it’s just as important to just be you, mistakes and all.

--

--