Turns Out, The Mediator Series Has Been Living Rent-Free in My Head for Years

Revisiting the books of my youth on the precipice of 30

Amanda Kay Oaks
Your Book Friend
Published in
5 min readOct 23, 2021

--

Eventually, I got my own copies… and read them about a billion times, too (photo by the author)

Earlier this year, I decided to listen to the entire Princess Diaries series on audio, a comforting stroll down memory lane originally intended to help me fall asleep.

Eleven books later, I was surprised by how much I’d forgotten about the series. Because of course, while I enjoyed it, it wasn’t my favorite series as a young girl. Oh no, I went in for weirder back in those days.

My favorite series, which I checked out from the local library on a repeating cycle, was a different one by Meg Cabot. The Mediator series. Because why be a teenage girl in love with a normal teenage boy when you can be a teenage girl in love with a ghost?

I wasn’t sure I’d be able to find the books on audio, since they were never made into a movie like The Princess Diaries was, and audiobooks back then were giant cases of CDs you had to lug around, making them less popular and easily accessible.

But lo and behold the modern magic of Audible. Audio reread number two was ON.

--

--

Amanda Kay Oaks
Your Book Friend

Pittsburgh-based writer & wearer of many metaphorical hats. Making words about books, pop culture, witchery, health, travel, and more! She/her.