Welcome to Your Book Friend

Book reviews & recommendations from your bookish pal

Amanda Kay Oaks
Your Book Friend

--

Photo by Elena Kloppenburg on Unsplash

Hi there, and welcome! As you may have guessed given the name of this publication, I’m a bit of a book nerd. And, probably, you also like books. That’s why you’re here, right? Or maybe you ended up here by accident due to the mysterious ways of the internet?

Either way, I’m glad you’re here!

This is a home for casual, conversational book reviews and recommendations. If you’re looking for your next read or curious if those “see it everywhere” titles are worth your time, this is the place for you.

You won’t find book bashing here. I don’t review books I hate because, well, I don’t finish books I hate. Life’s too short for that! You’ll find everything from the pretty good to the knock my socks off phenomenal reads here, along with plenty of context.

Instead of a star rating system, I offer recommendations based on what kind of reader would enjoy a book — even if that reader isn’t 100% me (I’m looking at you, Untamed).

A little bit about your bookish pal & reviewer extraordinaire! My name is Amanda Kay, and I’ve been a reader since I first memorized the contents of Green Eggs and Ham and got busted for holding the book upside down while “reading” to my mom.

--

--

Amanda Kay Oaks
Your Book Friend

Pittsburgh-based writer & wearer of many metaphorical hats. Making words about books, pop culture, witchery, health, travel, and more! She/her.