I’m an Introvert Who Hated Working on My Personal Brand — Until I Did it My Way

Claire Karjalainen
Personal Branding
Published in
1 min readMar 21, 2016
Image via Shutterstock (via the Muse)

Hi, my name is Claire, and I’m an introvert. Despite being passionate about marketing and loving the challenge of telling other people’s stories, I struggle with the fundamentals of marketing myself.

Here are two related facts:

  1. Introverts don’t like being the center of attention, promoting themselves or standing out in a crowd.
  2. The career research is in: Personal branding is valuable. If you’re interested in becoming a leader in your field or landing your dream job, you need to set up and maintain a digital presence that tells people who you are and why you’re special.

For an introvert, these two truths can cause a lot of anxiety. How can I have a brand if I hate drawing attention to myself?

>> Find out how at The Muse.

--

--

Claire Karjalainen
Personal Branding

Content and customer programs at Twilio. Bellingham, Wash., by way of Boulder, Colo. Intermittent writer.