Your Career Might Not Define You But Your Personal Brand Certainly Does

Sonya Denton
Personal Branding
Published in
3 min readJan 21, 2017

by Sonya Denton

Discovering your true personal value is the greatest gift you can give yourself. Along the Great Ocean Road, Victoria, Australia.

“Your career doesn’t define you.” The statement is often used to make someone feel better when their ‘career’ hits a snag or to remind them they’re working too hard. Few give an alternative way to think about ‘the career’ until something big happens and we see our role differently.

That ‘something’ for me was broadcast journalism. I spent ten years moving from city to city and station to station; working with mentors and developing my craft. I thought I was constructing a strategy for achievement, but inadvertently I was building the foundation for a personal brand. This epiphany was a defining moment in my life.

My journey started before I became a journalist. I was learning German at the University of Cologne when I met Claude. He was a survivor of the 1994 Rwandan genocide. After hearing his harrowing story, it sparked something inside of me as I struggled to grasp how it made me feel. My curiosity was alive. I wanted to pursue a career where I could use words and images to make people feel the same mix of emotions that I did.

I constructed a Venn diagram of the key characteristics of a broadcast journalist: 1. A strong on-camera persona, 2. Persuasive communication skills 3. Using the power of stories to touch the heart.

Years later it dawned on me, ‘What’s the difference between an entrepreneur creating a brand and me?’ There’s research and development, marketing strategy and the qualities that set you apart from the competition. Marketing experts say your opportunities start multiplying when others see the value and authenticity in your personal brand both online and off. I believe your personal brand not only attracts opportunities but also provides an armor during tough times.

I remember when innovation started a major shift in the way people consumed news midway through my career. I was working for one of the largest networks in the country in a major market. But I wanted to move on.

The realization of the importance of a personal brand lead me to pivot my career. The timing was right when management gave me the opportunity to take a layoff amid massive cutbacks. Though I had my reservations about leaving after ten years, I knew broadcast journalism didn’t define me but a personal brand certainly would. I didn’t have to be a journalist to pursue my passion for experiential storytelling. Ten months later I started the MBA program at Schulich School of Business in Toronto. I knew I could be more effective behind the camera combining emerging technology, business strategy and media.

No matter what your profession or industry, the investment in a personal brand is worth making. Through formal or informal education, we satiate our curiosity to learn about travel, art, culture and beyond. We read and make observations to draw insights and seek mentors. It’s this syllabus that elevates our human capital, which we can promote using 21st century technology. We use LinkedIn to make professional connections; create and upload entertaining content to platforms like YouTube; broadcast our message live to audiences through Periscope, and author thought leadership articles on our personal websites.

I’ve come to understand that continuous investment in your personal brand helps avoid the risk of becoming irrelevant. It also provides some stability in uncertain times. And most importantly, your personal brand doesn’t depreciate because you’re in control. It’s the calling card you use to define and shape the career you want.

--

--

Sonya Denton
Personal Branding

I use media, tech and design to create multisensory experiences that give people access to the information they deserve to have.