22–01 COS Interviews: Goodbye First Group Back

Your Daily Vivere Staff
Your Daily Vívere
Published in
18 min readMay 4, 2024
The surviving members of 22–01 celebrating their COS with a retirement party for Kento and Kathy. [Pictured from left to right then top to bottom: Priscilla, Tyler, Roxanne, Sara, Kento, Kathy]

Temperatures rise, rains fall more frequently, and students redouble their efforts to drive PCVs crazy — signs that summer is just around the corner. But summer 2024 will mark a new chapter in PCDR (and the Peace Corps at large) as the community says goodbye to 22–01. As it turns out, being the “First Group Back” post the global pandemic also means being the first cohort to leave.

So where will these six (yes, just six) COS-ing PCVs end up next? How did they end up here in the first place? What sage wisdom do they have to offer those PCVs they leave behind? And how can we show them our profound appreciation for their service through monetary offerings made directly to their Banco Popular accounts before May 11th?

Keep reading to find out (some) of the answers directly from the source.

Kent Rice

“I am the one on the left.” — Kento

What are your DR apodos? For many years, I have been called Kento, especially by Spanish speakers. Some students currently call me Kentucky.

Site & province: El Cacique, Monte Plata

Program: Community Economic Development (CED)

Project assignment: Work in high school teaching financial literacy, employability skills, and entrepreneurship. Also work with a local agricultural cooperative and with small businesses.

Project reality: Working in high school teaching employability skills, entrepreneurship and assisting students with mathematics.

Why’d you come back? Ain’t got nothing else to do.

Would you make the same choice? Yep

What other years/countries/programs have you served in? 1980 to 1982-St Kitts, rural development; and 2017 to 2019-Paraguay, agriculture.

What did you do to pass the time between being evacuated and returning to service? We rented a small house that needed fixing up, so I washed the outside of the house reestablished grass in the back yard, built steps for the back deck, and refurbished a kids swing set. That wasn’t enough. Designed and constructed a machine for grading the City’s recreation trail, refurbished 20 park benches around the trail and other miscellaneous items on the trail. Then I designed a house for a relative. And had plenty of time for rest.

How did COVID restrictions affect your service? It was a very frustrating delay of service and made it much more difficult to complete medical clearance to get back into service.

Most/least useful thing brought from home: Most useful, phone and computer. Least useful, snorkel gear, I thought this was an island, Not.

Most useful new skill you can’t list on LinkedIn: I think I have learned to take deep breaths to reduce nervous sweat when in an uncomfortable situation, which is every day.

Best “I know I’m in Peace Corps” moment: Every time I ride a public bus.

Funniest experience in country: I don’t know why this is funny, but it is to me. 12-year-old Samuel is always very mean and causing trouble in school. He doesn’t do well and seems behind in most subjects. I play the memory game with him where cards are turned upside down and spread around the table. He is so good at that game, unbeatable. He whistles and sings song as he effortlessly turns up matches. It makes me laugh as he slaughters me.

Most memorable illness or injury: COVID causing me to miss the swearing-in ceremony.

Dominican habits you’ll take home with you: Cutting my throat with my finger every time any little thing goes wrong.

Most beautiful place in country: Las Terrenas.

Vivere you hated and now you love? Haven’t found one yet I like.

How have you changed during your service? Not a bit.

If your service were a book, what would the title be? Kento goes to the RD.

What are you glad you did here? Work in the schools, especially helping with math.

What will you miss six months from now? A short trip to the beach. And a few students.

What won’t you miss? The loud noises: in the school, the school band which includes only a big drum and symbols, church music at night, motorcycles, etc.

What’s next? I think I’ll go to grad school, NOT.

How will you spend your Readjustment allowance? New car, new truck, and a new house; how much do we get?

What advice would you give to a new volunteer? It’s a great experience no matter what (almost), take what you get and make the best of it.

Vívere Award (i.e. “best nose scruncher” or “dominoes champ”? Supplier (in the school) of pencils, pencil sharpener, erasures, rulers, white board markers…

Famous last words: The days are long, but the years are short.

Roxanne Bankhead

Unhinged. Guineos in hand. Roxanna roams the campo looking for someone to “a buen tiempo” her a free lunch.

What are your DR apodos?
Rosanna, Rosanny, Rosa, (etc) with an (un)healthy side of Americana y Rubia. I also used to get a lot of “Priscillas” in the office.

Site & province: Barreras, Azúa!

Program: Community Economic Development

Project assignment: Originally? A women’s co-op and a Plan Internacional youth group and my local high school. Plus whichever interested entrepreneurs I could find.

Project reality: Sometimes the group thing doesn’t really work out jaja. And great ideas still need genuinely interested people to carry them out, so the formally assigned parts of my work were a roller coaster that was occasionally fun. Luckily, as time went on I had more and more opportunities to work with entrepreneurs and I loved that! The various grants and business projects I’ve been able to support have made up for the chaotic groups and high school.

Why’d you come back?
My chapter in Peace Corps was unfinished after getting evacuated in 2020. I didn’t know if I’d go right back ASAP or if it would be something I did decades later, but I knew I would be back someday.

Would you make the same choice?
Yes. I have learned so much these two years and I see myself using that knowledge heavily in life and work moving forward. That being said, I would definitely do things differently if I had all the knowledge I do now, but that’s just part of life!

What other years/countries/programs have you served in?
PC Senegal — CED in 2020 (rip)

What did you do to pass the time between being evacuated and returning to service?
Two to three months of depression and guitar playing (as one does in quarantine) followed by an impulsive move across the country to start a small business making music videos. Once winter started to come around I moved my Texas a** back to the south. From there I started working at a Residential Treatment Center for girls coming out of Domestic Minor Sex Trafficking in Austin. I also picked up rock climbing and apparently inspired many a breakup song.

How did COVID restrictions affect your service?
Well apart from a crash course in connecting with my cohort via a ten day quarantine in the Bella, Covid really served to put some dampers on the start of my service socially. I tested positive but asymptomatic for Covid my first week at site and had to quarantine in Santo Domingo. We had lots of restrictions on travel, mask wearing, and public transport that made integration really tough at first because very few people in the campo (or anywhere else for that matter) followed such strict guidelines. As time went on, the restrictions lifted and it became much easier to integrate smoothly.

Most/least useful thing brought from home:
Most useful- solar powered inflatable lamp.
Least useful- heavy rain coat. Brought it for rain and hiking Pico Duarte. Little did I know that “no llueve en Azua” is a true statement and Pico Duarte remains on my PC bucket list.

Most useful new skill you can’t list on LinkedIn:
Catching bolas.

Best “I know I’m in Peace Corps” moment:
When my US sister told a story about how loud her new neighbors were and the first advice I thought to give was to show up with rum and throw some dembow on the music queue.

Funniest experience in country:
Too many funny experiences to count but the one in which I laughed the most was a moment of delirium in the Bella (classic PCDR) after a week of pooping in lil’ cups and being poked and prodded for Medical COS appointments. Sara and I are sitting around trying to work when Sara starts to read me the newsletter for an Aruban donkey sanctuary she found on Google Maps. It was equal parts morbid and hilarious as all of these donkeys had absolutely tragic life stories. We laughed so hard we couldn’t breathe and I may or may not have used $30 of my readjustment allowance to become an official Friend of the Donkey Sanctuary that night.

Most memorable illness or injury:
All my significant illnesses have happened on vacation… maybe it’s a sign to stop taking days off haha. I once fell off a mountain at site though and got some gnarly cuts/bruises from the fall.

Dominican habits you’ll take home with you:
Nose scrunching, lip pointing, responding to bad news with a “BUENO” and a stank face that could shrivel viveres, and saying hi every time I walk into a new place.

Most beautiful place in country:
The mountain highway from Ochoa towards Constanza! Some of the most breathtaking scenery I’ve ever seen around every bend (just be careful not to fall off the side of a cliff).

Vivere you hated and now you love?
It’s not that I hated guineos at first. It was just odd to eat them green and boiled. But now? I’ll definitely be scoping out the green bananas at the grocery store.

How have you changed during your service?
I’m far more comfortable being the odd one out and doing things “wrong.” I have learned to accept the parts of me that don’t please everyone and am far more aware of how to make my friends feel seen and wanted when we have differing desires.

If your service were a book, what would the title be?
First Ones Back: Twenty-seven months of starting up and stomping down dumpster fires in the Dominican Republic

What are you glad you did here?
Found the rock climbing community! And wrote a grant that I think will really have a lasting impact.

What will you miss six months from now?
Fresh fruit and the volunteers I have come to call friends.

What won’t you miss?
Catcalls and working with the youths. They often went hand in hand.

What’s next?
Professional answer: I will take the next few months to reconnect with family and friends. Then I’ll search for jobs that fall either into the international development category (UN projects, USAID, etc.) or into the Diversity, Equity, Inclusion teams of the private sector.
Real answer: I’m gonna bop around Europe and spend a fiscally irresponsible amount of my readjustment allowance on train tickets, fancy cheese, and climbing around the Swiss Alps. Then I’ll spend what’s left on moving wherever work takes me next and on my very own moto.

How will you spend your Readjustment allowance?
*See answer above. Plus the student loans I have not had to pay since 2020. (Dr. Biden, if you’re reading this pls tell your husband to forgive my loans).

What advice would you give to a new volunteer?
Commit to being yourself even if it’s hard. Two years is a long time to censor your actions and personal truths. Be weird. Do things “wrong.” Disagree. Service might be “24/7” and we might “rep the USA” but in the end, it’s just a job so live your life.

Vívere Award:
The Hivemind Award: Given to Roxanne and Sara for sharing enough of their waking thoughts with each other that another few months of service would have unlocked the secrets of telepathy.
(Still) the Class Favorite: Kento. No explanation needed.

Famous last words
Dios les bendiga todxs. Cuidense. Gozen mucho, gasten poco. No me olviden. Saludenme a sus familias. Llamenme de vez en cuando. Coman mucho arroz. Sean felices. These requests are mandatory. Amen.

Priscilla Núñez

Don’t let her calm demeanor fool you. Priscilla is often scheming her next adventure, whether it be to the local river, Puerto Rico, or an espaghettis party with her students.

DR apodos: Mexicana, Pri, Rubia

Site province: Peralta, Azua

Program: CED

Project assignment: Teach high school students entrepreneurship

Project reality: Survive each day and hope at least one pays attention

Why’d you come back?
It’s my first time in DR but I decided to stay in Peace Corps after it was suspended during COVID because I knew it was something I was meant to do

Would you make the same choice?
Yes, 100%

What other years/countries/programs have you served in?
I was scheduled to go to Ecuador before COVID happened but never made it to country

What did you do to pass the time between being evacuated and returning to service?
Work, Netflix, and try not to go crazy

How did COVID restrictions affect your service?
At the beginning it was hard to wear a face mask with the heat and Dominicans looking at you like your crazy for wearing one.

Most/least useful thing brought from home:
Least useful- hiking boots
Most useful- flashlight

Most useful non-LinkedIn appropriate skill:
I can hold my pee for long period of time. Comes in handy when you’re in a guagua

Best “I know I’m in Peace Corps moment”
When I jumped from bed because I saw a mouse.

Funny moment:
My host nephew came back from partying late at night and I scared him to death

Most memorable illness or injury:
When I accidentally put ear drops on my eye. I thought I was gonna go blind!

Dominican habits you’ll take home with you:
I’ll definitely use el tubi on my hair, really works

Most beautiful place in country:
So far, Las Terrenas

How have you changed during your service?
I’ve learned to take it slow and take time to be with people

If your service were a book, what would the title be?
Who is that Mexican in Peralta?

What are you glad you did here?
Enjoy my community

What will you miss six months from now?
The people and my community

What won’t you miss?
Doing laundry outside

What’s next?
No se. For now I plan to stay a month extra to explore DR

Readjustment allowance plans?
Invest it, not sure in what yet. And of course to travel.

Advice to a new volunteer:
Enjoy it, it’s over before you know it

Vívere you hated and now you love?
Platano

Famous last words:
Que lo que wawawa

Sara Kellenberg

When she is not burning tires, Sara enjoys replacing her bloodstream with straight coffee and reading in her rooftop kiddie pool.

What are your DR apodos?
Sara translates pretty easily but I will turn my head at Rubia. Only my doña (and Indiana) can call me Sarita.

Site & province:
Villarpando, Azua. Villa Fundación, Peravia. Manresa Altagracia. Any guagua going anywhere.

Program: CED

Project assignment:
Teaching high school entrepreneurship and working on basic accounting with a women’s group.

Project reality:
So many side projects. A grant and multiple conferences; a trip to work with artisans in the South; somehow involved in raising 4,000 chickens at site.

Why’d you come back?
I said I would. And why not?

Would you make the same choice?
There have been so many highs and lows that my answer might have changed at any minute, but at the end of day, yes. Así es la vida y una nunca sabe.

What other years/countries/programs have you served in?
Peace Corps Miami 2020.

What did you do to pass the time between being evacuated and returning to service?
Trained for the Peace Corps by picking up many hobbies (if there was a pandemic hobby, I tried it). I also got a job in non-profit fundraising, which came in handy when I had to fundraise for my grant.

How did COVID restrictions affect your service?
More government issued stuff to move to each site, including a zillion masks and tests I have nothing to do with.

Most/least useful thing brought from home:
Most: Old Bay. Everything Bagel Seasoning. Good hot sauce. Anything to spice up viveres. Oh, and good sunglasses.
Least: A raincoat — it went back to the states after a year in Azua.

Most useful new skill you can’t list on LinkedIn:
De-wasping my house with a machete. (and bola catching)

Best “I know I’m in Peace Corps moment:
One day in a water shortage, I looked down at the creek water I was going to use to shower and there were lil fish swimming in it.

Funniest experience in country:
Explaining to my doña that pan con mantequilla de maní meant plain toast with peanut butter, not a tostada de jamón y queso con mantequilla de maní. Was a close call as she tried to put mayo on it.

Or watching a fellow volunteer fall asleep in the driver’s bed in his truck on the way back from 27 Charcos.

Most memorable illness or injury:
Lice traumatized me the most, even in comparison to dengue and my trusty amoeba.

Dominican habits you’ll take home with you:
I am a huge fan of greeting everyone on the bus when you get on. A buen tiempo-ing people. And honestly maybe putting sugar in my coffee, pero solo un chin.

Most beautiful place in country:
The guagua ride up from the 15 de Azua. Anywhere with a doña and a cafecito. Or Playa Fronton in Samaná. The list goes on…

Vivere you hated and now you love?
Yuca sancochada con cebolla. When done right, it is delicious and I will have to find a yuca source wherever I live. Closely followed by a good mangú de platano.

How have you changed during your service?
I hope I am more patient and flexible. I am definitely more adept in dealing with new challenges daily. I have learned how to say yes more, to take risks, and to try anything once, sin vergüenza.

If your service were a book, what would the title be?
The Wheels on the Guagua: when to get on and when to light a tire fire.

What are you glad you did here?
I am really proud of the EE-DL project, and think it has the potential to impact small businesses for years to come. I have also loved my time getting to know the different communities I have lived in, and seeing the rest of the country.

What will you miss six months from now?
Where to even begin. Spending time in plastic chairs drinking cafecitos. The sound of dominoes being slammed onto wood tables. My neighbors. MANGOES. Having new experiences every day even when I begin to think I’ve seen it all.

What won’t you miss?
Piropos. Teaching high school. My house trying to electrocute me. Overcooked espaguetis.

What’s next?
Back to school, this time as a student. Si Dios quiere, I will be getting a Masters in International Relations at Johns Hopkins SAIS and an MBA at the University of Virginia.

How will you spend your Readjustment allowance?
Travel! Have so much planned for this summer. And new shoes that aren’t full of wasps.

What advice would you give to a new volunteer?
Make a list of random good events. It can be an experience with a student or a friend or neighbor. A great piece of fruit. A day at the river. Having a tangible record of your good experiences will help on the bad days. You have so much opportunity to do good here, but it paradoxically goes so fast. Make it count.

Also, drink water and wear sunscreen. Heat stroke is no joke.

Famous last words
Déjame aquí. Mil gracias a todos y fue un gran placer.

Kathy Peck

Avid gardener, literacy teacher, tandem bike pilot, voice of sassy reason, and so much more. She might be ready for retirement but this lady is unlikely to be found without some project or plan she’s working on.

What are your DR apodos?
Don’t have one. I think they just like saying, ¡Katerín!

Site & province: El Cacique, Monte Plata
Program: EDU

Project assignment: Primary Literacy Promoter

Project reality: Full-time job — Primary Literacy focus

Why’d you come back? I said I would and so, I did.

Would you make the same choice?
Given all things equal, yes. It’s been more than I could have imagined.

What other years/countries/programs have you served in?

1982–1985 Honduras — Rural Development

2017–2019 Paraguay — Agricultural Extensionist

2020 Dominican Republic — Evac from Staging in Miami — OK, not really “served”

What did you do to pass the time between being evacuated and returning to service?
Lived in a rental house with borrowed furniture and limited kitchen supplies. We connected with family and the community, in other words, I did pretty much what I’ve been doing here.

How did COVID restrictions affect your service?
The students in my school missed a lot during the pandemic. Students are behind grade level and are still catching up.

Most/least useful thing brought from home:
Most useful thing we brought was our solar lantern…nice not to have to finish my shower in the dark. I’m still trying to find a table large enough to put together the 1000-piece puzzle I brought.

Most useful new skill you can’t list on LinkedIn:
What’s Linkedin? ;)

Best “I know I’m in Peace Corps” moment:
The third time the water pump needed to be chipped out of its concrete casing.

Funniest experience in country:
Listening to our host Doña on how to get back to our training site in La Cuaba. When the Guagua arrived, there was nothing familiar about the town. Turns out there is another La Cuaba. It took trusting the Guagua driver who told us to wait at the side of the road for another Guagua. He didn’t tell us that he had called another driver who picked us up and delivered us to our host family’s door!

Most memorable illness or injury:
Missing Swear In because of having COVID!!!

Dominican habits you’ll take home with you:
I hope I can learn how to dry my hands on a towel and not just shake the water off onto the floor.

Most beautiful place in country:
I love the ocean on the north coast. Las Terrenas is beautiful.

Vivere you hated and now you love?
I’m still not really a fan.

How have you changed during your service?
I’ve gotten older.

If your service were a book, what would the title be?
More than a Box

What are you glad you did here?
I’m glad I did my job while still taking care of me.

What will you miss six months from now?
I’ll miss winter in the tropics. In six months it will be really cold in Iowa!

What won’t you miss?
The noise…all the loud motorcycles!

What’s next?
I think I’m finally ready to retire. A nice home near family sounds pretty good right now.

How will you spend your Readjustment allowance?
Gotta have a car to leave the airport.

What advice would you give to a new volunteer?
Be flexible and find how you can mold the job to your strengths.

Vívere Award?
Community Pied Piper

Famous last words!
This is our last time.

Tyler Ulch

Tyler taking a break from his CED duties to contemplate the mysteries of the universe at Tres Ojos.

What are your DR apodos?
El Tyler, Taaylor, Taylor Swift, El Rubio

Site & province: San José, Peravia

Program: CED

Project assignment:
Teaching Entrepreneurship and Employability at a polytechnico, Organizational Strengthening with a Farmers Association.

Project reality:
Attempting to order chaos on all levels. Teaching ended up alright.

Why’d you come back?
Adventure, wanted to learn new things, meet new people.

Would you make the same choice?
I would

What other years/countries/programs have you served in?
I was in training as a child and maternal health volunteer in Guatemala in 2020 before the pandemic arrived.

What did you do to pass the time between being evacuated and returning to service?
Hiking, working online, video games, traveling the southeast of the US and kayaking.

How did COVID restrictions affect your service?
Had to wear a mask at times, not really at all in site.

Most/least useful thing brought from home:
Most: My laptop Least: Swiss army knife — never used.

Most useful new skill you can’t list on LinkedIn:
Active imaginative writing

Best “I know I’m in Peace Corps” moment:
Waking up to being showered by rain through the holes in my tin roof, tarantula running on wall while putting buckets out to stop house flood.

Funniest experience in country:
Dancing merengue for school at an assembly

Most memorable illness or injury:
Having shards of the statue of Neptune in Puerto Plata stuck in my foot.

Dominican habits you’ll take home with you:
Scrunching my nose when I don’t understand something and loudly calling out someone’s name every time I see them.

Most beautiful place in country:
I like Samana, las terranas and Constanzas

Vivere you hated and now you love?
Yucca

How have you changed during your service?
More independent, behind the helm of my own ship.

If your service were a book, what would the title be?
Water Heart, finding connection through the experience of isolation.

What are you glad you did here?
Spent time writing by the beach, the Constanza’s medical mission, teaching CTS.

What will you miss six months from now?
My coworkers at school, fritos and the coffee.

What won’t you miss?
Motos and loud music.

What’s next?
Going with the flow

How will you spend your Readjustment allowance?
Hopefully use it wisely, I’m broke.

What advice would you give to a new volunteer?
Be patient, enjoy the ride.

Vívere Award?
Softball Champion — Equipo “Los Bendiciones” de Arroyo Hondo

Famous last words:
Vaya con dios

That’s all folks!

These volunteers have just a handful of days left in service so don’t be a stranger! Get your last minute requests for advice in now because what ever bad choice you’re contemplating, they have probably already made it and can give you the insider look on if it was worth it and the odds you’ll get AdSepped for it.

The first PCV cohort to return post-Pandemic at their swear in ceremony. RIP to our fallen soldiers. Not pictured are Kento and Kathy due to COVID. [Pictured left to right: Roxanne, Eileen, Priscilla, Demitri, The Chardonnay, Gigi, Benjamin, Sara, Tyler, Leslie]

Not included in these interviews for various reasons that made for great chisme over the years:

Gigi: Life of the party, lover of motos.

Leslie: EDU superstar and Bad Bunny’s #1 fan who was looking for a different flavor of work.

Demetri: Chaos incarnate — but has grown up much since swearing in.

Eileen: Potentially the most qualified for the professional aspects of the job. Black mold did her dirty.

Benjamín: He graces your presence still! But gained an L at the end of his PCV initials and will COS this summer instead of with the cohort.

Honorable Mentions to: PCVLs Andrea and Noah. You may not technically be in our cohort but service would not have been the same without y’all and y’all are always welcome to the 22–01 functions.

Interviews compiled by Roxanne Bankhead with help from Priscilla Nunez. Thanks to all 22–01 members for taking the time to reply with your experiences. Que vayan bien in this next chapter in life.

--

--

Your Daily Vivere Staff
Your Daily Vívere

Peace Corps Volunteers in the Dominican Republic “compartiring” their experiences back home.