Don’t Cry in the Shoe-Store, Bring the Air Force Ones: PC-DR Packing Do’s and Don'ts

Madalyn Heinle
Your Daily Vívere
Published in
8 min readApr 1, 2024
Right before I ran back inside to grab my Air Force One’s

Picture it: It’s one week before you leave for Peace Corps service. You’re shopping for new shoes that are durable, work appropriate and cute. Alas, this is proving harder than you thought. All of the shoes that you deem appropriate, are not your style. This is the last straw on the pile of stress and anxiety that has been accumulating over the past few months. “I feel like I’m sacrificing my own personal style! I would never wear these shoes outside of this Peace Corps context”, you cry to your mom. In the end, you buy them anyway, willing to sacrifice whatever it took to have a successful service. Little did you know, you would never wear those shoes… not even in the Peace Corps context.

And so, as your dad starts to put your suitcases in the car, you think, “I have enough room, my bags aren’t overweight, whatever, let me just throw my Air Force Ones in there” And that last minute thought ended up being your saving grace. Now, you’re glad you had that thought, for if you didn’t, you would be stuck wearing shoes that are not your style. I wish someone would’ve told me not to buy those Sketchers slip-ons, so that is what I am here to do for you.

I am not going to quantify how many shirts or pairs of socks you need to pack for your 2 years of service; the Peace Corps has a very helpful list according to the country that would offer better insight on a more specific and quantifiable list. Instead, this article is composed of the things I wish I brought, things I’m glad I brought, and things I wish I didn’t waste space and money on.

My first piece of advice is to figure out your priorities. Some other Peace Corps packing lists prioritized snacks, comfort food that would remind them of home. I quickly decided that that would not be my priority. Instead, my priority was my toiletries. I am glad that this was what I chose to prioritize. My skincare and hair products are more important to me than granola bars and Froot Roll-Ups. Once you have figured out your priorities, then you can pack accordingly, to make sure you don’t exceed the weight or bag limit.

The spread

Another thing to note as you sort out your prioritized packing list: PC will tell you that you can buy a lot of things in country, which is true, but it’s important to note that you might not get the chance to go and buy those things until a few weeks in. Account for that time in between arriving and going shopping in the capital for the first time, as it may be a week or two. Bring with you any necessities that you may need before that time. Similarly, if there are any particular brands of toiletries or things that you are attached to, bring enough to last you the 2 years because they might not be available here.

Anyone who has a menstrual cycle: bringing my own pads and tampons was something I’m glad I brought. PC provides you money to buy them in your stipend, but if you are particularly partial to a certain brand or type, bring them. They might not have them in your community or in the DR at all.

Onto more things I am glad I packed: for one, a headlamp. The power went out more times than I could count during training and I was so happy I took my dad’s one and only headlamp (sorry Paul). Speaking of blackouts, a portable charger always comes in handy along with any kind of rechargeable battery.

This one will sound funny, but I’m glad I brought a sweatshirt… those Caribe Tours buses are freezing. And sometimes in the winter months it gets juuusssttt cold enough to do those early morning walks to school with a jacket on.

My stuffed animal puppy I’ve had since I was little. ❤ Always nice to have those comfort items that remind you of home.

An umbrella. Not just for the rain, but for the sun! My doña won’t let me leave the house without it.

Bring a beach towel!!! The amount of trainees who brought the hotel towels to the beach in Miami during staging was comical.

I brought my own surge protector/power strip, which I guess I technically didn’t need to bring because PC provides one BUT… sometimes it’s nice having two. Also, we didn’t get them until we got to our training communities… meaning we didn’t have it for our first week in country…and a trainees laptop got fried during a power outage on night one…

Now onto some things I wish I didn’t waste space packing… Physical books, put those on a kindle. Children’s books, Peace Corps provides plenty. Dominoes, everyone here already has some. My own sheets and pillowcase, my host fam provided this. Bug spray and other first aid kit type medicines, PC Medical Officers provide plenty. A plastic reusable water bottle, AKA, a water bottle that doesn’t keep water cold… bring your Hydroflask. Tupperware… see Mari’s article regarding Tupperware on YDV for more.

In terms of clothes, I wish someone would have told me not to sacrifice my own personal style for ‘Peace Corps appropriate” clothes. It turns out, you can still dress in your style while serving in the Peace Corps. Shocker, I know. Of course some things might not be appropriate for days at school or walking around the community, but I’m assuming we’re all smart enough to know what to wear and what not to wear around children and your bosses. My point is, I bought new clothes that I have yet to wear here in the DR, and would never wear outside of the Peace Corps context. I ended up packing my white Air Force Ones last minute. And by last minute I mean as I was walking out of the house to go to the airport. I am so glad I decided to bring them, because those are what I have been wearing everyday for the past 7 months. They are functional and go with all of my outfits, but most importantly, they are my style and make me feel like me. There may be aspects of Peace Corps service that take away parts of your identity. Don’t let it take away another part of your identity as well: your style.

When it comes to shirts, keep in mind you will have the opportunity to purchase Peace Corps polos. I ordered 5, one to wear everyday of the school week, which I have found to be a great process. I rotate these 5 shirts with 3 pairs of dress pants and one pair of jeans (casual Fridays). You can order these at the beginning of training and they will come in before you swear in, so account for that time in between when you won’t have them.

Another important note on clothes: bring casual clothes! It seems I only packed business casual clothes and pajamas lol… I thought I would be in business casual 24/7, never wanting to look like a tourist or not taken seriously by members of the community. I found that people will think I’m a tourist no matter what I’m wearing, and my community could not care less about what I wear. Bring the spaghetti strap tank top and the flip flops.

Also! I wish I brought more “going out” and “cute” clothes. Little did I know that there would be many festivals and national holidays and parties where everyone would be going out, and I have like, one cute shirt to wear to these fun events. Bring a few cute, fun outfits.

Onto more things I WISH I brought. I highly underestimated the amount of free time I would have. I didn’t bring any of my hobbies, big mistake. I wish I brought my soccer cleats and a soccer ball, my ukulele, my kalimba, harmonica, clarinet, Spikeball net (that could have been my carry on or personal item that I chose to forgo) a kindle (I only brought 3 books and read them all immediately) and my yoga mat. I really thought “ I won’t have time to play my ukulele or do yoga or read a bunch!” Yes you will. The amount of free time you will have will not be a problem, bring your hobbies and the things that you will be happy to spend your free time doing, or can share with your host family or community. This is one of the reasons I wish I brought my ukulele, to play music for my host family and students.

One suitcase for clothes, one for toiletries and shoes

I wish I brought noise-canceling headphones, especially for long guagua rides when they play bachata music the whole time. OR little earplugs in general for the discotecas and the early morning roosters.

I wish I had brought a digital camera instead of a disposable one. My friends brought digital ones and they’re much more practical than disposable ones, especially if you want pictures immediately. Just a little cheap one, nothing fancy or expensive.

I wish I would have downloaded more movies/shows while I had reliable WiFi. Take advantage of your WiFi connection now while you have it! If you do have access to WiFi here, it will probably not be as strong or fast as the one you have right now.

I wish I brought house flip flops. I only brought one pair of sandals, thinking I would just wear them in and out of the house occasionally. Bad idea. They get so dirty outside I take them off or clean them before I go inside with them. Bring specific flip flops that are just for the house.

The most important thing to remember is there is no one right way to pack for the Peace Corps. Everyone’s needs and experiences are going to differ, so pack for what you think will be best for you. Needless to say, you will forget some things, bring unnecessary things, or pack stuff that you won’t touch the entire two years and look back and think, “Damn, I should’ve listened to that Madalyn girl who said to bring my Air Force Ones..”

See below: Picture examples (that I actually scoured the internet for before my service to find examples of what PCVs wear lol)

One of our YDV members, Jessica, displaying how she styles her Nikes at school
Zona Colonial fits
Business casual, pre PC polos
After school get-together fits
When the dress code wasn’t discussed lol; when it comes to going to the beach, wear whatever you feel comfortable in, whether it’s a bikini, jeans and a t- shirt, or anything in between

--

--