Meet the Cohort: EDU 24-01

Your Daily Vivere Staff
Your Daily Vívere
Published in
11 min readAug 20, 2024

Interviews collected by Cat, edited by Jessica

The newest group of volunteers to join the education club. Membership requirements: must have at least one 8-yr-old bestie.

Sandra

Hometown: Saint Michael, Minnesota

Star sign: Virgo

Site province: San Cristobal

Project assignment: EDU

What you will accomplish in two years: Gain useful skills and meaningful experience.

Weirdest thing packed: Laundry Detergent Sheets (My host family be like 👀)

Funniest experience: Random inside jokes with Andrea

Love life prognosis for the next two years: Si Dios Quiere

Disease most afraid of contracting: Parasite related diseases

What do you have to say about Plato del Día: Oh well, constipation it is!

#1 item on your PCDR bucket list: Get out of DR… I mean travel to neighboring countries.

What do you miss from home: Access to different cultural cuisine

Biggest fear of service: Having parasites

Why are you serving: Good question…🤔

Advice to a new trainee: Be soft to yourself, you’re working harder than you think

Brayan

Hometown: Douglas, Arizona

Star sign: Sagittarius

Site province: Monseñor Nouel

Project assignment: Primary Literacy Promoter

What you will accomplish in two years: In two years as a PCV, I’ll have mastered the art of smiling through cultural mishaps, dodging unexpected wildlife, and making “flexibility” my middle name!

Weirdest thing packed: A potion for hair growth — I’m hoping for a literal growth spurt in all aspects of life!

Funniest experience: Being called gringo for the first time in my life.

Love life prognosis for the next two years: My most consistent relationship will be with my mosquito net, because it’s always there to protect me at night!

Disease most afraid of contracting: Monotony

What do you have to say about Plato del Día: It’s like a culinary lottery where today’s dish could be a flavor explosion or a ‘meh’ moment.

#1 item on your PCDR bucket list: Bahía de las Aguilas.

What do you miss from home: A/C

Biggest fear of service: Running out of coffee! Just kidding… it’s probably not making a meaningful impact despite my best efforts!

Why are you serving: To challenge myself, learn from diverse perspectives, and contribute meaningfully to communities in need of support and empowerment.

Advice to a new trainee: Embrace the unknown, stay curious, and don’t be afraid to make mistakes — each one is a stepping stone toward growth and understanding. Dios va a querer!

Riley

Hometown: Alachua, FL

Star sign: Taurus

Site province: Monte Plata

Project assignment: Spanish Literacy

What you will accomplish in two years: A wonderful relationship with my community

Weirdest thing packed: Tupperware

Funniest experience: Learning to eat mangos with my hands

Love life prognosis for the next two years: we’ll see

Disease most afraid of contracting: Some kind of parasite

What do you have to say about Plato del Día: no comment :P

#1 item on your PCDR bucket list: Pico Duarte

What do you miss from home: The food

Biggest fear of service: Aids

Why are you serving: This feels right

Advice to a new trainee: Eat all of you favorite foods while you can

Yamil

Hometown: Yabucoa, Puerto Rico

Star sign: Pisces

Site province: Monte Cristi

Project assignment: Primary Literacy Promoter

What you will accomplish in two years: In these two years I hope to reach a level of Spanish where I can pursue a masters degree in a Spanish program.

Weirdest thing packed: The weirdest things that I packed are Sanrio plushies of Badtz Maru that all my friends gifted me before I left Japan to come here.

Funniest experience: Is being told as a vegetarian I should know that chicken isn’t meat and that I’m not allowed to eat eggs.

Love life prognosis for the next two years: As much as I love Angelyka and the warmth she brings into my life, there’s another love that claims my heart each night — the steadfast breeze of my fan. It’s not just an appliance; it’s a devoted partner, wrapping me in a cool, comforting embrace as I drift off to sleep. Night after night, it whispers sweet nothings with its gentle hum, ensuring my rest is peaceful and serene. While Angelyka’s love fills my days, it’s the fan that cradles me through the night, making it an essential part of my love life in its own quiet, unwavering way.

Disease most afraid of contracting: I’m seriously concerned about the diseases mosquitoes can spread here in the Dominican Republic. The mosquitoes in Monte Cristi are something else. These are the most atrevido and tigre mosquitoes on the entire island! They have no respect — they’ll bite you right on the face, nibble on your eyelid, and won’t hesitate to go through your shirt or pants like it’s nothing. It’s like they’ve got X-ray vision and a personal vendetta.

What do you have to say about Plato del Día: The plato del día in the Dominican Republic is a bit of a gamble it can either be really good or really bad. But once you get to know the right people and the best spots, you’re set for lunch and dinner from just one plate. It’s all about finding those hidden gems where the food is delicious, and the portions are generous.

#1 item on your PCDR bucket list: I wanna visit all of the provinces

What do you miss from home: Depending on which home. For Japan I miss the Family Marts and Lawsons. For North Carolina I definitely miss my friends and cookout.

Biggest fear of service: Feeling like an outsider in Caribbean culture

Why are you serving: I’m serving in the Peace Corps to challenge myself in ways I’ve always dreamed of. This has been a life goal of mine for over a decade, ever since I met Peace Corps volunteers in Benin. Their dedication and impact left a lasting impression on me, and now, I’m here to push my limits, make a difference, and fulfill that dream

Advice to a new trainee: Just keep swimming.

Brittany

Hometown: Omaha, Nebraska

Star sign: Sagittarius ♐️

Site province: Barahhhonnaa

Project assignment: EDU

What you will accomplish in two years: I hope to increase my Spanish comprehension and explore new opportunities the DR has to offer.

Weirdest thing packed: My travel bidet and she-pee

Funniest experience: Finding smut in the Peace Corps office library and using it to practice my Spanish 😉

Love life prognosis for the next two years: Ya tú sabes

Disease most afraid of contracting: Any mosquito borne illnesses

What do you have to say about Plato del Día: Cat’s doña makes it better than yours

#1 item on your PCDR bucket list: Hike across the DR

What do you miss from home: I miss charcuterie boards, craft beer, family, and close friends.

Biggest fear of service: Dominican centipedes that can only be killed by a machete or a guagua

Why are you serving: I want to make a meaningful impact and difference in the world and challenge myself in ways I never thought possible.

Advice to a new trainee: If you can’t sleep because it’s too hot in your room, sleep on the tile floor.

Jenna

Hometown: Arvada, CO

Star sign: Taurus

Site province: Monseñor Nouel

Project assignment: EDU!!! spanish literacy

What you will accomplish in two years: Hoping for a sick dominican accent

Weirdest thing packed: a pokémon fan!! it was a last minute idea but everyone in PST ended up loving it

Funniest experience: On my last night of CBT, hearing my very elderly and VERY evangelical host parents let loose and teach me bad words

Love life prognosis for the next two years: Hoping to spend my future here with someone caring and thoughtful and worth my time

Disease most afraid of contracting: The diseases should be afraid of me

What do you have to say about Plato del Día: I’m occasionally pleasantly surprised

#1 item on your PCDR bucket list: find something beautiful to appreciate in every day

What do you miss from home: my coworkers/salsa crew and my fam

Biggest fear of service: That I will never feel good enough about my spanish or my work

Why are you serving: I hope to develop connections with people I would have otherwise never had the chance to meet

Advice to a new trainee: Don’t overthink it. Everyone else will feel the same way you feel at some point or another

Elisa

Hometown: Norman, Oklahoma

Star sign: Leo 🌞

Site province: Bonao

Project assignment: Primary Literacy Education

What you will accomplish in two years: My main goal is to help as many kids learn to love to read and create their stepping stones toward a successful life. I would also love to up my dancing and Spanish skills, beat some locals in Dominos, learn to cook traditional Dominican dishes, finally be able to do the splits, and create a mini garden!

Weirdest thing packed: The game Taco, Cat, Goat, Cheese, Pizza

Funniest experience: I saw a group of grown men go absolutely NUTS watching two Betta fish fight

Love life prognosis for the next two years: I’m here for a good time, not a long time (but low key a long time sooooo 😘😵🥴)

Disease most afraid of contracting: Literally all of them but mostly the ones that will kill me

What do you have to say about Plato del Día: If it’s edible, imma eat it. But give me some aguacate y salsa PLEASE

#1 item on your PCDR bucket list: Do yoga on the beach while the sun rises

What do you miss from home: Not having to look at the vile nuclear disasters I created every time I bucket flush ❌❌❌

Biggest fear of service: Death in all its forms

Why are you serving: I decided to join the Peace Corps because I wanted to improve my Spanish and do meaningful work to help a community and especially the youth. Reading is one of the most important skills and I loved the idea of ​​helping students learn something so fundamental for a person’s success.

Advice to a new trainee: Drink LOTS of water, lean on your cohort for support, don’t be afraid to make language mistakes (it’s how we will learn), and pack fun going out clothes too! In many ways, I thought I was going to live like a conservative nun in the mountains with no communication with the outside world, but I was wrong…

🕺🏽💃🏽🪩

Aisis Kai Planté

Hometown: Baltimore, Maryland

Star sign: Aries

Site province: Monte Plata

Project assignment: Education

What you will accomplish in two years: I will raise levels of alfabetización in my school. I will connect to my Latin culture.

Weirdest thing packed: Romeo Santos blanket

Funniest experience: Someone telling me their two year old daughter “tiene más cojones” than me after I saw a flying cucaracha.

Love life prognosis for the next two years: Eso no e’ na

Disease most afraid of contracting: Is not a disease but piojos are valid

What do you have to say about Plato del Día: Have not tried one

#1 item on your PCDR bucket list: Become less apologetic

What do you miss from home: My cat :) Amora

Biggest fear of service: “ET”ing before service becomes good

Why are you serving: To provide a safe environment to learn Spanish

Advice to a new trainee: Full send luv

Angelyka

Hometown: Buena Park, Ca

Star sign: pisces

Site province: Monte Cristi

Project assignment: EDU

What you will accomplish in two years: Create lasting relationships with my community that positively impact them and myself.

Weirdest thing packed: a hoodie, as if I would ever need one here

Funniest experience: Getting chased by a dog, in the rain, my first week in the DR (its funny now)

Love life prognosis for the next two years: In loveeeee

Disease most afraid of contracting: hair relaxer

What do you have to say about Plato del Día: it means so much to me

#1 item on your PCDR bucket list: I wanna be put in the Doña group chat sooo bad

What do you miss from home: matcha iced teas :(

Biggest fear of service: not making a lasting and positive impact

Why are you serving: To learn from the children and community on how to become the best teacher I can be as well as to connect more with my Caribbean roots and culture.

Advice to a new trainee: Take it step by step, breath by breath it’ll all turn out okay 🙂

Cat

Hometown: Washington DC

Star sign: libra.

Site province: Barahona (the south)

Project assignment: EDU

What you will accomplish in two years: Inspire my students with a passion for reading and make lasting relationships with the beautiful people I meet along the way.

Weirdest thing packed: a pull-up bar.

Funniest experience: watching a student run away, climb up a tree, and jump the fence instead of singing “Sonidos Iniciales.”

Love life prognosis for the next two years: status quo.

Disease most afraid of contracting: laziness.

What do you have to say about Plato del Día: My doña makes it better than yours.

#1 item on your PCDR bucket list: I would like to see a whale.

What do you miss from home: My car, EDM concerts, anonymity in public spaces, Bali hai cigarettes, the leaves in autumn, fireplaces in winter, my family and my friends

Biggest fear of service: watching my friends suffer.

Why are you serving: I love teaching, I love happy people, and here people are teaching me how to be happy.

Advice to a new trainee: You’re going to be fine, you got this. Just keep swimming.

Want more? Meet the other half of the 24–01 cohort, CED.

…and that’s it folks! See you soon for the next round!

Latest stories published on Your Daily Vívere – Medium

--

--

Your Daily Vivere Staff
Your Daily Vívere

Peace Corps Volunteers in the Dominican Republic “compartiring” their experiences back home.