Out of Context Journal Entries

Jessica Seal
Your Daily Vívere
Published in
3 min readAug 18, 2023

Here is a collection of the most chaotic entries from my journal so far during my time in the Dominican Republic. I hope someone can find some entertainment in the inner workings of my brain. For those who know me well, can you guess the context?

  • The inner savagery totally came out
  • That man is an enigma and I love him
  • I got on the bus and I had zero idea where we were going
  • So I have bright red burnt squares on the top of my feet
  • I wasn’t in a super great mood… and I think it showed on my RBF
  • We got lost and found a tree house instead
  • I want ice cream, but I just brushed my teeth… a predicament
  • (Redacted) and (redacted) came over for a group grievance session
  • I should stop intellectualizing my feelings
  • This morning, I tried to say “a spoonful of peanut butter” but I actually said “a spoonut butter”
  • I don’t know what’s happening in my life anymore
  • I disillusioned Dominican men & their ideas about NYC
  • Ok a man with a machete just sat down next to us and is talking to himself. Lowkey sus.
  • I mean, she’s always a vibe, but extra tonight
  • Jammed out and spread the fake chisme
  • My inner camp counselor came out
  • I know it’s coming from love, but lady, I’m a whole ass adult here
  • Calm to chaotic to sleepy to completely delusional spinning in a chair
  • I decided I needed to remove myself from social settings
  • Until the drool started dripping… she was seriously loopy
  • I’m getting too metaphorical but this shit’s crazy
  • Time to crash and sleep like a corpse tonight
  • Had a whole convo about my empty womb
  • I really miss vegetables
  • I had my baklava and (redacted) had her dried prunes
  • (Redacted)? Well, he’s (redacted) and he cannot be explained with words
  • The brain cell is bobbing back and forth between us right now
  • Everyone else is way worse in terms of the skin cancer threats today
  • Lost a globo today. Flew up into the sky and away
  • Things I’m grateful for today: cortisone
  • (Redacted) interrupted my UNO game with (redacted) to bring me to a preggo lady’s house to look at baby clothes?
  • The ups and downs are going up and down
  • Brought (redacted) a mango and she devoured it like a ravenous animal
  • Reunited with my throuple for afternoon adventures

And now as I re-read these lines, I question again: what is my life here? But to be honest, going through these old journal entries has shown me everything I have done in the past 6 months since I arrived in country. I have been through a lot, learned so much, met countless new characters, and I can see how I have grown both as a person and as a teacher.

I can’t wait to see where my life leads me over the course of the rest of my service, and what journal entries come out of my adventures. I am grateful for this way of recording what is happening in my life and the experiences I have shared with others. Who knows, you might be secretly featured next time :).

--

--