Amazing New Ed-tech Writer on the Block: 4 Random Facts

Christina
Your Favorite Place
5 min readOct 4, 2022
The Old Way is the Best Way

The first entry is usually the most difficult one, probably because there’s so much to say and so much that’s inappropriate to talk about. If you’re reading this now, it’s likely because I’ve reached out to you, or you’ve found me on the internet. Either way, I want to say welcome! No matter how we’ve stumbled onto each other, I’m glad you’re here. And I want to make a proper introduction: who I am, and why I’m an ed-tech copywriter.

As I’ve said before, Introductions are always awkward for me, because there’s a question of what I should tell you. What would I tell someone if I met them at a cocktail party, or a school function, or a friend’s house, varies of course? I don’t want to start this off like a bad English essay, where we go into the beginning of time, blah blah blah. So what should I share with you?

Who am I? This Ed-Tech Writer’s Fun Facts.

This will likely be the most I talk about myself during my time on here, so I’ll start with the interesting facts.

If you’re into the Myers-Brigg Personality test, I’m an ISTJ. I share the same personality type as copywriter legend Warren Buffet. I’m stubborn, yet very hard-working and detail-oriented. I’m also very organized, which any good ed-tech copywriter needs.

If you’re into astrology, I’m a Leo Sun with a Leo Rising and an Aries moon. Meaning that my good energy rubs off into everything I do, and I’m also very impatient. For any copywriter, especially an Ed-tech copywriter, that means that I work quickly and am very hard working and articulate, especially since I also have Mercury in Virgo — which is the best placement for written communication.

If you care about education, I received a Bachelor of Arts and a Master of Fine Arts in Creative Writing. During school, I concentrated on fiction. I have a short story collection that I need to find an agent for (if there are any please reach out to me), and two of my short stories were recently nominated for the Best of the Net award.

If you don’t care about any of that and just want to read about copywriting work, no need to worry — I’ve got you covered.

Why am I here? This Ed-Tech Copywrter’s Journey

Now that we’ve gotten the cocktail talk out of the way, I want to share why am I even a copywriter. Why would I take the plunge and write copy for ed-tech companies?

The question is simple with a sprinkle of complication — because I love to write and I’m passionate about education.

During my undergraduate studies, I volunteered with Americorps as a math tutor, even though Geometry was a nightmare as a high school student. However, teaching moody seventh-graders about math was a way to give back. I empathized with their frustration and shame over not understanding math. And that empathy led to creative ways to teach them Geometry. For example, I once taught a Geometry lesson using a game of pool.

My passion for education carried over throughout the years. I spent almost a decade in the educational and nonprofit spaces, teaching from kindergarten all the way to post-secondary education. The challenge with education as a teacher has related to the lessons to the students. That involves a great amount of care and education about what’s going on with the world outside of us.

This was a humbling lesson as I was a teacher. Education is amazing because tethers the young to the older generations in a way that no other job can. During my time as a teacher of English as a Second Language (ESL), I learned extensively not only about American history, but also the history of K-Pop and how the music ties in with American culture.

Teaching is a profession like no other because it’s a community effort. It relies heavily on the care and motivation of student success and requires educators to remove their own egos in order to teach lessons that fully prepare students for their future.

Educators deserve to be rewarded and support more for their effort, and I’m glad that there are now more ed-tech resources available to help bridge that gap.

But more needs to be done.

Why Write This? Education for Copywriters

In essence, my time in the education and nonprofit spaces prepared me for the task of becoming an ed-tech copywriter.

Based on my extensive experience in the literary world, writers are taught that they should write about what they’re passionate about- as opposed to what they know or don’t yet know. I’m passionate about education because it’s invigorating to prepare future generations.

We’re in an environment where everyone goes to school at some point in their lives, and as long as there are children who graduate to become students, there will always be a need for ed-tech resources, hence, ed-tech copywriters.

While I recognize that this isn’t an interview (I could write a whole blog post about interviewing), I do know that ed-tech companies might ask this question: why transition out of the classroom if you loved it so much?

While I know that this could be a whole different post (there I go with my creative side in overdrive, typical writer), the answer is that I felt like I should hone my talent as a writer rather than my passion as a teacher. My life’s mission is my work, and I want my mission to go towards the talent I’m most excited about, which is writing.

And as a person who writes, I sharpen that talent daily (and have for decades!), and as a person who is community-minded, I care deeply about helping people. I care passionately about getting students the help they need and educators with the support and resources they so desperately deserve. That’s the reason why I want to use my skills as an ed-tech copywriter to put these companies in the right position to serve those educators and communities.

It’s my experience, coupled with my writing, that makes me an ed-tech copywriter in this space. What do you look for in a writer? Comment below!

--

--

Christina
Your Favorite Place

Short story writer. Essayist. Copywriter. Blogger. Human.