Taming the Savage Beast (with Music)

Rebecca Victor
Your Joyful Path
2 min readNov 9, 2018

--

What do we do when our last nerve is frayed and the sparks are close to igniting an inferno? Some people engage in intense workouts like a run, Zumba class, cross-fit training or long distance cycling to get calmer, clearer and more focused. Other people enjoy activities designed to soothe their nerves, like yoga, Tai Chi, gardening or meditation. Personally I am in the group that enjoys music, experiencing its benefits whether listening to a great song or playing a favorite instrument. For me, music is the medium that helps me downshift from that state of “Lord, take me now” to “Okay, I can handle this.”

Regardless of the emotional state we may find ourselves in, there is always some form of music that can perfectly match what we are feeling. Like when our heart feels broken and we want to feel the feelings but we don’t want to feel alone in the sadness, or maybe we’ve had a great day and we want songs that are high in energy so we can dance around the house.

Music can also elevate our energy and our emotions, and make us feel lighter. As a mother, I often found late afternoon right before the dinner hour to be the most stressful time of the day. Whether I was working outside of the house or not, I would find my energy at its lowest ebb then, and trying to figure out a meal for the night was a true challenge. All I felt like I had the energy for was to curl up with a good book or relax on the back patio.

Even audio books

Music definitely helped me! Depending on what felt best, I would play CDs ranging from calming instrumental music to classic rock, jazz, Broadway tunes or Christmas melodies, and even audio books or people talking. It was amazing to watch the impact the recordings had on my children and spouse as well, and how we interacted as a family at the dinner table. We’d have quite the conversation on those days when I listened to people like Wayne Dyer or Deepak Chopra.

Music helps my rattled nerves unwind, and when combined with an intense physical workout or the slow, calming movement of yoga, it provides a wonderful way to respond to the antics of the unruly monster within.

How about you? What do you do that helps you get past stressful conditions in your life?

Rebecca Victor and Your Joyful Path, 2012 to the present date. Unauthorized use and/or duplication of this material without express and written permission from this site’s author and/or owner is strictly prohibited. Excerpts and links may be used, provided that full and clear credit is given to Rebecca Victor and Your Joyful Path with appropriate and specific direction to the original content.

--

--