Tighten Your Social Network But Don’t Choose To Face Depression Alone

Pris
Your Life Manual: How To Beat Depression (Again)
2 min readApr 16, 2018
Photo by Helena Lopes on Unsplash

“Hi, I’m feeling vulnerable today. Just give me a moment to take off all my clothes and draw a giant target on myself. Oh and take note to shoot me here, through the heart, for more dramatic effect!”, said no one ever.

As perplexing as it may seem to an outsider’s perspective, there’s a good reason why those with depression tend to shut out others: self preservation.

It’s hard enough for the average person to expose their vulnerability, let alone when you’re crippled with the hopelessness, insecurity and fear that comes with depression. And honestly, people can be downright nasty. They can reject, belittle or dismiss you. They can enforce all the negative thoughts that already possess your mind.

Then there’s the thousands of acquaintances living out supposedly successful, ambitious, carefree and permanently happy lives on social media. “ Great. Thanks. Awesome reminder on what and where I should. I struggled to even get out of bed and eat,” you think as you scroll through your feed.

By all means, for the sake of your sanity, tighten your networks. The last thing you need is reinforced negativity and pressure to trigger more thoughts on why you’re irrelevant, why people don’t care, or when and where you’ve screwed up. Treat yourself like you’ve gone out and your phone is on low battery. Turn off all notifications.

Withdraw.

Conserve.

Breathe.

Going against the instinct to shut out everyone was a constant struggle but I tried to keep in touch with a few key people because as much as I felt like no one cared, these people reminded me how sad they would be if I gave up and ceased to exist. Some that I loved left without a word, but the ones that stayed are the ones I treasure more than ever. They’re the ones that remind me I don’t face those hard and confusing times alone.

Clear any thoughts on mind before you ask yourself the following things: 1) Who it is that you can trust not to judge you? and 2) Who is proving to try and be there for you?

Tightening your network doesn’t mean you have to face this alone.

--

--