When trials morph into triumphs

Indira Rao is an Immunology Graduate (Doctoral) Student, School of Medicine, at the University of Pennsylvania, USA. In this emotional, gripping narrative, she opens up about the ups and downs of her academic career. She also talks about how these experiences have helped her grow both academically and personally.

I grew up in the idyllic suburbs of 1980s Mumbai. The modernity and dynamism of the city itself were always accessible, yet the suburbs insulated one from the changing cultural landscape. The strongly engendered faith-based ethos of the suburbs manifested as reasonably strict adherence to the traditions and value systems embraced by the community as a whole. In this environment, as a young girl from a conservative middle-class family, my primary education was aimed at acquiring skills that would make me a good wife. Competence in the kitchen, recitation of prayers from memory, classical music or dance training, composed speech, general housekeeping and, most importantly, an obedient disposition were key prerequisites.

Academic education leading to the prospect of future employment was a bonus. What’s more was the idea that employment typically meant a job one held, not necessarily a professional career. Pursuit of an intellectually fulfilling career was a luxury few could afford in that milieu.

Since school was more about treading the road well-trodden and not really about new learning, I did not find it very stimulating. Also, my accolades in the performing arts kept me engaged throughout school life, further widening the gap in my academic training. However, as I approached college/university, I began to recognize the importance of true education and found myself enjoying the intricacies of chemistry and biology.

College was also my first foray into a culturally diverse atmosphere. I was fortunate enough to meet a few young women and their families who were devoted to their education and overall development. I was just beginning to think of the role of women on the world stage and the representation of women beyond the home and the holy mantle. But instructive learning aside, I really struggled with my evolving world view as it acutely reflected the limitations of my own development. This was an unsettling time in my life and I struggled to find harmony between my changing outlook and the conformity demanded of girls.

Out of a sense of mutiny about the world around me, I decided to fail the final exams of my Bachelors’ degree. It was my way of rejecting the life imagined for me by others. This would be a big gamble, but there was an odd sense of quiet self-assurance that stayed with me.

Want to know how Indira eventually went on to pursue a PhD? Read her full story here.

--

--

Researcher Chronicles
Your research. Your life. Your story.

Share a chapter from your life as a researcher. Tell us about your unique experiences, triumphs, or lessons - An Editage Insights initiative