Be #Open!

Marla Renee Stewart
Your Sex Arsenal
Published in
3 min readFeb 10, 2020

--

There’s so many ways of being open…

Ad for #open

In the sex educator’s world, we often tell folks to be open to new possibilities that may occur. Our incredible abilities to be open to being exploratory and learning new things allows us to open our minds and seek things and identities that encompass us and our audiences.

However, what I realize is that being open is not as easy as most people think it is. When it comes to sex, people think, “I could possibly be into that” or “I don’t think that’s my thing.” When you fall into the latter category, you are automatically becoming biased about what could or could not be your thing. In my previous blog, I talk about doing things at least 3 times before you know for sure that you like them. I will always take heed to this advice and you can feel free to adopt it as your own; however, that’s only when it comes to sexual matters.

Being open is not only about being open to the sexual possibilities, it’s about being open to all the possibilities and working with and around all the things that seem limiting to you.

For instance, as a Community Ambassador for #open, a new dating app, I’ve realized that there are so many possibilities that come with our identities and our behaviors. In this particular app, you can search for people via hashtags. In this sense, you are able to find folks who have the same hashtag as you so…

--

--