Uniqlo(Fast Retailing-Japan) Interview Experience.

Avinash Choudhary
Your Tech Intern
Published in
3 min readJun 6, 2021

Fast Retailing Co., Ltd. is a public Japanese retail holding company. In addition to its primary subsidiary Uniqlo, it owns several other brands, including J Brand, Comptoir des Cotonniers, GU, Princesse Tam-Tam, and Theory.

In this blog I have tried to share the whole interview process for the position of Software Engineer.

How I got this opportunity?

It was an on-campus opportunity. Fast Retailing conducts its on-campus drive in the month of February(job location is Tokyo). They conduct their drive for DTU, NSIT and IIITD together.

Interview Process

The application was open for computer plus circuit branches with a CGPA cut-off of 7.5

The whole process was really long. It consisted of 5 rounds (1 online test + 2 personal interview+ 1 group discussion+ 1 onsite interview).

Online Test(18 Feb)

The online test was divided into 3 sections — Numeric, Aptitude and Coding test. The coding questions were LC easy-medium level.

After this, shortlisting was done on the basis of the test and resume.

Personal Interview 1(5 march)

This was a 2 on 1 round and was conducted on Google meet.

After a brief introduction I was asked one coding question (LC medium level). After giving an initial solution I was asked to optimise the solution. Few questions related to software testing , operating systems and OOP were also asked. This round was really short, around 30 mins or so.

A week after the interview I got the call from HR informing that the feedback was positive and I will be having another round of interview.

Personal Interview 2(15 march)

This was also conducted on Google meet.

This was basically resume discussion. The interviewer went over each and everything that was mentioned on my resume and asked about my intern experiences and about the projects. I was a part of a tech team (Inferno DTU) and we build a mars rover prototype which he found to be very interesting and discussed in length. This round was supposed to be around 30 mins but due to the long discussion went for 45–50 mins.

Few days after this round I was informed that I have cleared all the technical rounds and next will be a group discussion over meet. At this point I was in Goa.

Group Discussion(23 march)

For this I was in Goa, so my mental state is upto reader’s imagination.

The group consisted of 6 students and the topic was given on the spot and we were told that we had 15 mins to discuss amongst us and then 5 mins to conclude the discussion. The round went somewhat well for me.

This was a non eliminatory round and after this we had a final onsite interview at AeroCity Delhi on 30th march.

Onsite Interview(30 march)

It was more of a HR round one member from the managing team of Fast Retailing was present in person and 3 other members joined in via google meet. They asked questions like why do I want to join Fast Retailing, what was my 5 year plan, what do I bring to the table and why they should chose me for the role. Overall it went well and I believe they were really convinced by my answers.

The next day I received a call from the HR informing me that I have cleared all the rounds and they would like to extend the offer to me.

Conclusion

I hope this blog helps you clear any doubt regarding Fast Retailing Interview Process.

Feel free to connect if you have any doubts, feedbacks or even otherwise!

Avinash

PS I ended up rejecting the offer due to some personal reasons.

--

--

Avinash Choudhary
Your Tech Intern

Roses are red, Violets are blue, Unexpected ‘}’ on line 32. Full time Software Engineer part time lyrical poet.