Living The Google Dream!

Sanskriti Singhal
Your Tech Intern
Published in
6 min readJan 15, 2020

STEP Internship at Google Banglore

Like any other engineering student, one of my biggest dreams was to get an opportunity to work at Google Office. I remember the times when it felt beyond my limits but as the famous dialogue goes “Kehte hain agar kisi cheez ko dil se chaho … toh poori kainath usse tumse milane ki koshish mein lag jaati hai” :P

I have had many people asking me questions How was Google? How did you get the intern? etc.. So here it is…

What is STEP internship offered by Google?

STEP stands for Summer Trainee Engineering Program and is an internship program, more like a developmental opportunity for first and second year undergraduate females with a passion for computer science. During the internship, the STEP interns work in pairs on a challenging technical project, attend skills-based and professional development training and are mentored by Googlers.

How did I apply for STEP internship?

I was lucky that Google had reached out to the training and placement cell of my university.

The application process had two phases:

The first phase was the resume selection. Around 10–15 girls were selected from the college in this process for the next phase. The second phase was telephonic interviews. Each candidate selected had two telephonic interviews. The interview lasted for around 45 minutes and covered Data Structures and Algorithms.

My Interview Experience

As mentioned earlier I had two telephonic interviews covering Data Structures and Algorithms. Each interview consisted of 2 coding questions and a discussion over my resume. For the coding questions, I was expected to devise an algorithm for the problem given to me. The interviewers were extremely humble and interactive. They dropped hints whenever required which guided me to the path to the right solution. I converted the solution into a workable, clean and optimized code. I had to write the code in my strongest language ( Java ) in a Google Doc that was shared with my interviewers.

After the interviews, all I had to do was wait patiently for the result. After about a month from the interview I received a call for the HR that I got through and was offered a 10 weeks intern at Google, India. I couldn’t stop myself from jumping.

( Honestly, for a second I thought somebody was pulling a prank on me. Fortunately turned out it was the reality :P)

Interview Tips:

One must be thorough with the concepts of data structures, Algorithms, Time and Space complexity, Object-Oriented Programming Concepts. You can practice on online platforms like GeeksforGeeks, HackerRank, LeetCode, InterviewBit. Don’t be intimidated. If the interviewer pushes you for a more detailed answer, the worst thing you can do is become defensive. If you require further clarification don’t be afraid to ask for it. The interviewer wants to check how analytically you can solve the problem. He/She shall focus more on your approach towards the problem. He/She shall definitely drop hints in between to help you reach the final solution if you are stuck. THINK OUT LOUD!!! In a telephonic interview, it is very important that you voice your approach towards the problem otherwise interviewer will have no clue what you are thinking. Practice writing code on Google Doc. It is different than a text editor. There’s no indentation, syntax highlight and auto-completion so it’s good to practice on Google doc and get familiar with it. Passion and enthusiasm are deal-breakers.

My 10 Magical Weeks at Google Banglore

Those 10 weeks were the best days of my 2 years at college. Every single day spent in that office has brought tons of memories and new learning experiences. I interned with the Google Apps Team. I worked with the infrastructure sub-team. Both I and my STEP-partner (STEP interns work in pair) had a common host and co-host who were both full-time Googlers. Our mentors were very supportive of us. They helped us understand the impact of our intern project. They would interact with us on various concepts related to the project, review our code and motivate us to do better each day. It is their constant guidance that backed us throughout the 10-week time! ❤❤

What made the internship a memorable experience for me was the fact that Google gave me the opportunity to work on a project that allowed me to use the theoretical inputs acquired while at college into some practical outputs.

Another thing that attracted me most was the open work culture at Google. I could walk around anywhere and contact anyone for doubts without any prior appointments. I always had lunch with the entire team. None of the full-time Googlers had separate dedicated cubicles, promoting open, collaborative and strongly connected workspace. I was lucky enough to sit next to the Head of Google Apps Team in India. Googlers have a great work-life balance. Everybody would do their work with the utmost passion and efficiency. At the same time owing to the flexible hours, they would take out enough time for their families and other interests. The office had various facilities like the gym, massage chairs all around, free massage points, game rooms, cricket nets, micro-kitchen to have snacks any time one wants to help the employees relax whenever they feel worked up. Not only this, the office has a dorm room with bunk beds where the employees can take a power nap anytime they want… isn’t it cool?

My favourite parts of the office :

The most favourite was My Desk. Seeing my name on a desk in the Google office was overwhelming.

Next on the list is the Cafeteria. Each day we had so much variety of food. There was a special coffee and chai counter for a special kadak start to our day. There was a live kitchen too. I do miss the dessert counter ( My favourite part of the cafeteria ). I miss that sugar rush each day…

Also The micro-kitchen at each floor packed with juices, soft drinks, chocolates,Maggi (one of the most important :P) and so much more…

Tech Intern Connect Event

We interns along with the Talent & Outreach team organized the Tech-Intern Connect Event, at all India Google Offices (Bangalore, Hyderabad, Mumbai and Gurgaon). Google invited tech interns of various companies for a day-long event revolving around Google Products, coding questions, fun group activities and thereby providing an opportunity to network with each other.

Intern Outing

Google had organized a great day for all the interns at a nice resort in Banglore. Many team-building and fun activities were held. It was an exciting and tiring day :)

GoogleServe

Every June, Google celebrates GoogleServe — a month-long campaign to connects Googlers to volunteer for some sort of community service. Google had tie-ups with various NGO’s and organizations who organized various events for the employees as well as interns throughout the month.

I participated in a gardening activity at Association Of People With Disability Horticulture Training Centre.

If I look at it now, I realise that these 10 weeks were nothing less than an epitome of learning, experience and sweetest memories. What it has done to my confidence as an engineer is nothing I can put in words. I am more than thankful that I had this opportunity and that I was able to live it.

This internship has been my inspiration to dream, before this I dreamt in the hope that one day I’d live them, now I’d dream knowing if one works hard enough for it one does live them!

So you must dream often as dreams do come true!!

Follow Your Tech Intern for reading more internship experiences of your dream companies!

--

--

Sanskriti Singhal
Your Tech Intern

SDE III @Google | Google SWE Intern'20 | Google STEP intern ’19 | DTU ’21