Motivation

WORK

--

Toward the end of January, our well-intentioned goals can seem to fizzle as our motivation dips. So, how do you keep going and remain strong until you either finish the project or obtain the goal? Here are some tips that help me.

I create well-defined targets. I ask myself, why am I working hard on this project? How will I know when it’s done?

I make a quick outline or plan. Then I consider whether or not there are parts I can eliminate from the plan, or parts that I forgot.

I schedule it in. I too easily put things off if my day is too full.

I gather all my needed tools. I try to do this in advance of the scheduled time.

I locate an accountability partner. Can I pick one colleague that each week I will have to tell how I’m doing on the project? I ask myself. When you have to speak the truth out loud, it can completely change your mindset.

I sit with the feeling of being done. I visualize myself finishing the project and how I will feel when it’s done. Will I be glad that I did it? Will others be glad as well?

Automating and allowing time for all of your steps can take the word “impossible” out of the equation and put the word “doable,” or even “enjoyable,” at the forefront of your journey.

LIFE

Accomplishing your personal goals takes more than willpower. In fact, some argue that it takes exactly the opposite. It’s not about willpower at all, they say, but about creating the environment or system in which you can succeed.

Remember, every change you consider doesn’t need to be adopted, but at least taking a chance and trying it on for a short period of time will allow you to see if it’s for you.

Laying out exercise clothes the night before, preparing healthy snacks for the week, making your studio completely ready for creativity (music, tools, materials, etc.)–all of these will allow you to be less likely to choose a different path. Having a partner or friend to help accomplish a task can not only increase motivation, but make it more tangible and strengthen your expectation of success. In all aspects be prepared, especially when your inner dialogue starts creating excuses.

What if your goal feels too big? Setting too high of a goal can backfire easily. Try completing just a fraction of your goal every day. Then slowly increase the amount of work you achieve while also being able to do it consistently. Here, the ritual is what you are aiming for.

Physically or mentally feeling that you are making progress will lighten your mood, change your outlook on the challenge, and help you transition from thoughts to action.

INSPIRATION

“She woke up and realized she had forgotten the definition of the word ‘impossible.’
She decided it must not have been that important.”

― Monique Duval, The Persistence of Yellow: A Book of Recipes for Life

TAKE ACTION

How can you prepare your desk or living space today to accomplish another step in your journey tomorrow?

--

--

Kaytlyn Sanders
Your Vibrant Journey: A Journal by Beneficial Studio

Body Positivity Activist | Art Director | Brand . Web . Social | Clearly communicate you. | Seattle